Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Was Spoiled For

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s is a group on Goodreads that was created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This group is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Books I Was Spoiled For

Isn’t this a sad topic? I hate when someone spoils a book for me, and it has happened enough times to easily find five to share with you today. I understand as a book blogger, it can be tricky at times to share reviews and avoiding spoilers but sometimes, people just don’t care and add them anyway – without warning. This really can affect someone’s reading experience, and stop them from enjoying the book as much as they would have. Anyway…

allegiant

Allegiant

The ending of this book was spoiled for me by a Booktube video I was watching one day. I must say the video had no indication that there would be any spoilers, and it wasn’t even directly related to the book (like a book review). The video I saw was a book haul, and they booktuber casually gave away the ending of the book. I don’t think they realised that they’d done it, but alas, once you’ve heard it – you can’t un-hear it.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

I know, I know – isn’t it awful that this book was spoiled for me? Thankfully, it was a major, major spoiler. This book was accidentally spoiled for me by a friend, accidentally again. We both received the book at the same time and began reading it at the same time. On the day the book was released, my niece and nephew came round and I was distracted for a short time. I’d received a text message saying ‘can you believe so-and-so died??’ and I hadn’t quite got up to that part. Thankfully it wasn’t the ending!!

Breaking_Dawn_cover

Breaking Dawn

My little brother, Ricky, had read this series before I had. We went to see the film together, and then he lent me the series to read. Bless him, he inadvertently revealed the plot twist in the final book. I didn’t mind too much though, as it was an inevitable ending but still.

mockingjay-jacket

The Hunger Games: MockingJay

Out of this entire list, I was most annoyed about this one being spoiled for me (even more than the Harry Potter ones, I know!) because I accidentally spoiled this one for myself. I’d gone on to the Hunger Games wiki page and accidentally saw that one of the more shocking deaths of the series. I can’t even remember what I’d gone on to the wiki page to check. Frustrating. That’ll teach me to avoid the internet in terms of spoilers!

Gone Girl

Gone Girl

Again, I was the reason that this book was spoiled for me. I was aware that I was spoiling the book for myself, and I went into it knowing that. The simple reason this book was spoiled for me was because I went to watch the film adaptation before I’d read the book. I’ve done this a few times, and I don’t mind it too much because it doesn’t usually put me off reading the book.

I hope you enjoyed this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, it’s quite sad when books are spoiled for people but I enjoyed recollecting the experiences. Let me know what books were spoiled for you, and how they were spoiled. Make sure to check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday, and the topic will be: Best Suggested Books I’ve Loved.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Was Spoiled For

Leave a Reply

