Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s is a group on Goodreads that was created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This group is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Disapointing Eye Candy

Lainey has decided to include one negative topic a month, just to change things up a little and this months is disappointing Eye Candy. This is referring to books that are aesthetically beautiful but ultimately awful. I had quite a bit of trouble with this one because I couldn’t think of any of the top of my head. I decided to google search for suggestions, and I found a list on Goodreads! I went through and picked my five. Some of these books I quite liked but I know universally they’re not, so I went with these:

twilight new

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

I must say, I was quite the Twilight fan back in the day. I’ve since tried to re-read it and couldn’t get through it again. There’s something about Bella that drives me absolutely nuts. I enjoyed it for what it was at the time but I know a lot of people who hate this series, which is why it features in this list. The covers for all of the books in the series are gorgeous, the most well-known being the apple. I particularly like the white and red editions of the books.

Matched

Matched by Ally Condie

Another book that I enjoyed at the time, but having thought about it since I’ve not rated it as highly. It’s an interesting dystopian society, and I did enjoy Matched – just not enough to have completed the rest of the trilogy. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever get round to finishing it, there are too many other books at the moment that I’d like to get through. With Project ‘Kill My TBR’ I’m aiming to minimise my TBR pile, and these books are sat purely because they’re pretty…

The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Again, another book I quite enjoyed, it really is a guilty pleasure of mine too, to be honest. It’s another interesting dystopian society, it gripped me enough to read the remaining books in the series, and the companion novels. The reason it’s on this list is that I know it’s widely claimed as disappointing. The covers for the series are very beautiful, I love the colour palette used and the dresses. Very pretty!

 fifty shades darker

Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

I feel like I’m repeating myself when I say this is a guilty pleasure read for me. I enjoyed it at the time, and have re-read them since. We all know that this book is despised by many that have read it, it’s not a surprise – and so it sits in this list because it’s disappointing but as pretty covers. I like the simplicity of them, and the mask on Fifty Shades Darker is stunning!

allegiant

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Out of all on this list, this really is a book that I found disappointing. I was absolutely in love with Divergent, and I quite enjoyed Insurgent too but the final installment in the trilogy was a massive disappointment. I hated how it ended, and that the plot didn’t feel like it fit with the rest of the books. I could go on about this, but at least my edition of the book is pretty…

I hope you enjoyed this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, even though I sort of bent the rules a bit to find five books. Let me know which books you found to be disappointing eye candy! Make sure to check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday, and the topic will be: TBA

 

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

Leave a Reply

