Binge by Tyler Oakley

Binge

Binge

by Tyler Oakley

Published: 20th October 2015

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Blurb

Pop-culture phenomenon, social rights advocate, and the most prominent LGBTQ+ voice on YouTube, Tyler Oakley brings you his first collection of witty, personal, and hilarious essays.

For someone who made a career out of over-sharing on the Internet, Tyler has a shocking number of personal mishaps and shenanigans to reveal in his first book: experiencing a legitimate rage blackout in a Cheesecake Factory; negotiating a tense stand­off with a White House official; crashing a car in front of his entire high school, in an Arby’s uniform; projectile vomiting while bartering with a grandmother; and so much more. In Binge, Tyler delivers his best untold, hilariously side-splitting moments with the trademark flair that made him a star.

Review

Tyler Oakley is a popular creator on Youtube, with an incredible amount of followers and viewers. As you may already know from my blog post about my Top 5 favourite Youtubers, Tyler is one of my favourites to tune into. When I heard he was releasing a novel, it went straight onto my wish-list. One reason I was anticipating this release is because I had been suffering with a reading slump, and if anything would pull me out it would be Tyler’s eloquent, sassy and down-right hilarious stories. This book is a collection of the stories that he wants to share with his followers, that are simply too long to elaborate fully in his go-to medium, Youtube videos.

I bought myself a copy of this book, and opened it as soon as I got home. Now then, I had quite an experience with this book that I’ve never had before. What I mean is, it was the first time ever that I also bought the audio-book to listen to whilst I read the physical copy. You may be thinking, why bother having both? Well, it gave the experience of this book another level as Tyler is the voice of this own audiobook. As you’re reading you hear the fluctuations in his voice, and most importantly (and my favourite part) his laugh. I appreciated that it made reading this book an event, and it made the experience that bit more special.

Throughout the book you will see lots of different images that correspond with the respective story he’s regaling. Mostly these are pictures of Tyler, either his younger self or when he’s taking selfies with celebrities. Sometimes, you get to see some of his tweets and even a page from a yearbook. I felt these images really added to the stories, it brought me in and made me feel like I was an old friend catching up. I’ve really come to appreciate books that include images to enhance the written medium, and I’ve found that they’ve been a reason those books stood out from the others with similar plot devices. Granted, this book isn’t a work of fiction – it is a collection of stories from Tyler’s life – but the point still stands.

It would be an understatement to say that this book was hilarious. To be honest, I don’t often laugh out loud when I read – but this one had me in fits of laughter. Particularly, the audio book really delivered the perfect comedic timing, which coupled with a picture, delivered perfection. It made me look forward to come back to my book each time. Normally, I would have raced through this book because his style is effortless and addictive, but listening to the audio book simultaneously meant that I had to stay to its pace. I’m so thankful for that because I got to appreciate it, picture it all in my head, and feel like I’m taking it all in to the desired effect.

I know this review really doesn’t tell you a great deal about the book, and I’m sort of happy about that. For me, I feel that if you’re a fan of Tyler Oakley – you won’t need to know too much anyway. You’ll want to dive straight in and live it for yourself. If you’ve never heard of him, I recommend you check him out on his Youtube channel before trying this book. One thing to take from this review is that I really recommend you listen to the audiobook whilst reading. I should also note, if you’re sensitive to strong language and sexual references – I’d swerve this one.

Fans of Tyler Oakley, you will not be disappointed. Get it, read it, love it.

One thought on “Binge by Tyler Oakley

Leave a Reply

