Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Buzz Words

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s is a group on Goodreads that was created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This group is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Favourite Buzz Words

This week’s topic is all about buzz words. Buzz words are those words used by publishers to describe a book that makes it a guarantee buy for you. There are so many to choose from, and for my selections I have chosen from examples on the books I own. Here are the five I have chosen:

“The Next BIG Thing” – Rolling Stones on Divergent

It shouldn’t be a clincher but I always find they are. It’s fun finding the new hyped book and figuring out what my opinion is on them. It can be a disadvantage at times, because often books are over hyped and then disappointing – especially when people are cynical about the claims. Divergent uses another interesting buzz word technique as I’ve seen on some editions that it’s refered to as ‘the next Hunger Games’. Referring to other popular novels is a great way of pulling in fans.

“Perfect for fans of From Notting Hill with Love…Actually” – Love Like The Movies

On a similar vein to the novel above, this book also uses the ‘if you like this book, you’ll like this one too’ technique. I think it’s a perfect marketing tool and it always gets me. If I’ve enjoyed a novel, then I’ll likely be searching for something I can enjoy just as much. By reminded me of the good experiences I had with one book, it’s a sure fire way of getting my attention. Love Like The Movies also pulls in fans of popular chick flick movies, and referring to those in the blurb was a good trigger for me.

“Extraordinary, resonant, beautiful and angry” – Sunday Telegraph on The Book Thief

Well, I don’t know about you but that really pulls my interest. The buzz words used by the Sunday Telegraph are practically promising that this book will evoke all kinds of emotions whilst reading it. I do like to pay attention when books use this technique because they’re talking about the actual craft, as oppose to relating two books via plot or genre. When I see buzz words like this, I’m ready to pick it up and be taking on an emotional rollercoaster.

“A book with genuine power to stir and comfort its readers” New York Times on The Five People You Meet In Heaven

Another example of the technique that was mentioned above, this time a little more simplified – instead of just pounding out a load of descriptive buzz words, this one feels like it’s a friend telling me all about this amazing book they’ve read. Using buzz words like ‘genuine power’ is always a winner too, as it always makes me curious as to what the book has to offer me. In regards to The Five People You Meet In Heaven, it’s a perfect description of the moving tale that it is.

“One of the most honest voices I’ve ever read” Books for YA on Am I Normal Yet?

The reason I chose this as an example is because it definitely drew me into reading this novel. One thing I and many others appreciate when we read contemporary novels, particularly YA, is a solid sense of realism. Whether that be through plot topics, characters or dialogue. When I saw the buzz words ‘honest voices’, I immediately knew that this author produces a good sense of realism – and it’s true, Holly Bourne’s work is completely authentic.

I hope you liked my version of this week’s top 5 Wednesday topic, I hope it’s what was implied! Regardless, I had fun writing this weeks edition. Let me know what buzz words draw you into buying a book, and what examples you have. Make sure to check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday, and the topic will be: Disappointing Eye Candy

Leave a Reply

