Top 10 Books of 2015

top 10 books of 2015

Hello lovelies – welcome to my top 10 books of 2015!

Yep — it’s that time of year, the time of year in which we all reflect on the books we’ve read and pick the ones that stand out to us the most. My goodness, I thought last years was hard – and I’d only had 38 books to choose from. This time I have over 50 books to pick my favourites from. I felt like I loved a lot of books last year, so narrowing it down to the top 10 is stressful! I was fighting with myself not only about which books would make this list, but also in what order.

After careful deliberation, here are my top 10 books of 2015:

Amy and Rogers Epic Detour

Amy & Rogers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

When I think of this book, I think of it as my ultimate ‘summer read’ and it takes me back to the time that I read it. I was on a road trip to Wales the day I read this, which fit perfectly with the story. The protagonists in this book take an “epic detour”, which takes them on a crazy adventure across the country. This book features lots of different images, which really enhances the story for me. Almost like a scrapbook of their trip. This is one of the reasons that it made my Top 10, because it was something quite different. I have yet to fully review this book on my blog, but it’ll pop up at some point during the year.

how to love

How To Love by Katie Cotugno

As you may remember, last year I read a book called Trouble by Non Pratt that featured a teenage pregnancy in the storyline. It became one of my favourite books of 2014, and it encouraged me to hunt down other books that feature teenage pregnancy. This one popped up on Goodreads and I read it in February last year. I absolutely loved it (obviously…). The protagonist, Reena, is content with her life and raising her daughter. Until, a blast from her past returns to town and rocks the boat. I loved the format of the book, jumping from past and present to tell a gripping story. If you’d like to read my full review, you can find it here: How To Love

Am I Normal Yet

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

It wouldn’t be a Top 10 without a Holly Bourne novel. I read a couple of her novels last year, and she’s quickly becoming a favourite author of mine. This one stood out, and is her latest (as it stands) novel to be published. This novel features Evie, who is about to start college. She’s worried about making friends, fitting in and finding a boyfriend. She’s also dealing with her OCD, and hopes to lower her medication. What I loved about this novel, and Holly’s writing is that it is refreshingly realistic. It took me back to my early college days, and I visualised it all there. It’s also a very interesting insight into mental health and how it affects the individual. A review for this book will be on my blog sometime this year.

Alice and the Fly

Alice and the Fly by James Rice

This was actually the first book I completed in 2015, and it’s unsurprising to me that it reached my Top 10 out of nearly 60 books. It’s a stand out for me this year because it was like nothing else I’d read and it was beautifully written. Greg is a character that tells his story of obsession and phobias through his diary. These diary extracts are juxtaposed with police transcripts to create a fully suspenseful, distorted, breathtaking read. I also had the pleasure of meeting the author and getting my book signed. If you’d like to read a longer review of this book, you can find that here: Alice and the Fly

All My Friends Are Superheroes

All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman

This short story really was brilliant. I completed it within an hour, and absolutely fell in love with it. Just like the title suggests, all of Tom’s friends are superheroes, and he hasn’t developed any powers. The plot follows his relationship with his wife, The Perfectionist – who cannot see her new husband because of her evil ex hypnotizing her. Every other chapter in this book explains some different superheroes – I loved these chapters because each superpower was unique and they weren’t predictable. I appreciated that not all powers were glamorous, some being completely random and probably ones most would rather live without.The books packs in a lot of punch considering it’s only around 100 pages. If you’d like to read a more in-depth review, you can find that here: All My Friends Are Superheroes

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

It feels like forever ago when I picked this up, and I still think about this book a lot. Leonard is a young man who is dealing with depression and has decided to take his own life, and also the life of someone who has tormented him for years. This book details his last day, and those that he wants to say goodbye to. Even though this book is really dark, I thought it was fantastically written and the format was something I quite appreciated. The author uses footnotes to enhance his story, and it also has a fantasy element. Leonard was an incredible character to read about, and it became a book I couldn’t put down. If you’d like to read a more detailed review, you can find that here: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Every Last Word

Every Last Word by Tamera Ireland Stone

When I reviewed this book, I claimed then that this book would make it into my 2015 favourites. And here it is! I absolutely adored this book, and I’d consider it an all-time favourite read. Samantha McAllister has purely-obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off. She’s introduced to an underground club called the Poets Corner, and her outlook on life changes. This book took me on an emotional rollercoaster, and I read it in practically one sitting. If you’d like to read a more in-depth review, you can find that here: Every Last Word

Dark Places

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

If you disregard my annual reading of A Christmas Carol, this book was the final book I read in 2015. I was really suffering with a slump in the latter half of the year, but when I picked this up I felt I’d overcome that and I was sucked into the book. We follow Libby Day as she tries to uncover the truth about what really happened at the Day family massacre. My goodness, this book kept me guessing and at some points scared the living daylights out of me. Gone Girl made my favourites last year, so it’s quite nice to see another Flynn novel here. You will find a more in-depth review for this book coming very soon, so keep an eye out for that if you’re interested.

All The Bright Places

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I have to say that this book was quite hyped up during 2015 so I went into this book with a little bit of wariness. I’ve been disappointed with overly hyped books before, but this one pleasantly surprised me and I’m definitely one of the many people who loved it. Finch meets Violet on the ledge of the school bell tower, and so their story begins. This is a book that tackles the stigma surrounding depression and suicide, and it’s a very beautiful and sad read. I knew as soon as I turned the last page that this one would be up there on this list. If you’d like to read a more detailed review of this book, you can find that here: All The Bright Places

Every Day

Every Day by David Levithan

No surprises as to what made it as my favourite book of 2015. I’ve raved about this book since I read it, and I’ll continue to do so because it’s a brilliant read. I’d never read anything like it, and I dropped everything that I needed to do to read it. A is an entity that wakes up in a new body every single day, and must live their life for 24 hours. One day A meets Rihannon and it changes everything for them. This concept was completely different, and I still think of all the possibilities. Love, love, loved it! I wish I could experience this book for the first time again. Not just my favourite read of 2015 but one of my all-time favourite books. If you’d like to read a more detailed review, you can find that here: Every Day

There we have it! My top 10 books of 2015 – lots of fantastic books for sure.  I will treasure each of these books going forward, and I of course recommend them to you – if you haven’t read them already. I can only hope that 2016 has lots of great books for me to fall in love with, whether that be already published or ones that are yet to be released. Let me know what your favourite books of 2015 were, I’m excited to hear and check out any I’ve not read myself.

Leave a Reply

