Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Fandoms

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s is a group on Goodreads that was created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This group is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Favourite Fandoms

“The term ‘Fandom’ is used to refer to a subculture composed of fans characterised by a feeling of empathy and camaraderie with others who share a common interest.”

Potterheads

Potterheads, otherwise known as Dumbledore’s Army, are fans of the book and film series Harry Potter written by J.K Rowling. I’m a proud Potterhead, and in Ravenclaw house. Anyone who isn’t a fan of Harry Potter are simply called Muggles (non-magic folk). I’d say out of all of this list – I’m definitely the most hardcore in this fandom than the others. I’ve started to gather more and more memorabilia and Harry Potter items over the years, granted it’s next to nothing compared to some people’s collections, but it makes me very happy!

Twihards

Twihards or Twilighters are fans of the series Twilight written by Stephanie Meyer. I was very much a Twihard back when I read the books during my first year at Uni. The film adaptations are decent too, although a lot of people felt they weren’t very good – my favourite probably being Twilight as it’s was my first glimpse into the story. In terms of ‘shipping’ as the young ones do these days, you were either Team Edward or Team Jacob. Personally, I was Team Edward in the books and Team Jacob in the films – as I felt more for Taylor Lautner’s portrayal of Jacob.

Ringers

Ringers or otherwise known as Tolkienites are fans of the Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien. The fandom Ringers is mostly used for fans of the films, and I would probably fall into this category. I enjoyed the books, but there’s something about the films I enjoyed more. Perhaps the conciseness of them, afterall the tree songs etc really slowed down the pace for me. My favourite LoTR film is probably the Fellowship of the Ring, as again it was my first glimpse into this fantastical world – and I love the shire!

Tributes

Tributes are fans of The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. There was a poll on the Hunger Games fansites as to what the fandom name should be called, and it was between Tributes and Mockingjays. If I’d have participated in the poll, I think I’d have gone for Tributes too – although both are brilliant. If I was a tribute, I’m not sure what my skill set would be to help me stay alive. Possibly hiding until most have already gone, and winging it from there. Let’s be fair, there’d be a cannon for me.

Initiates

Initiates are the fandom for the Divergent series written by Veronica Roth. This fandom is interesting because usually the fans refer to the faction they’d be in rather than initiates – but I liked the general term so I picked that. Personally, like Tris, I think we’re all Divergent. We can’t be placed perfectly into one faction, and we all have some of the traits of each. I’d definitely be Divergent because I could be placed in Amity, Dauntless and Erudite. Also, sometimes the fandom is reffered to as Factionless.

I hope you liked my top Fandom picks. Make sure to let me know what Fandoms you’re in, and if you’re in the same Fandoms as me. This was a difficult one to narrow down because there really are thousands of Fandoms out there! Don’t forget to check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday, the topic will be: Self-Published Books

Leave a Reply

