Something Borrowed & Something Blue by Emily Giffin

Something BorrowedSomething Blue

Something Borrowed & Something Blue

by Emily Giffin

Published: 1st January 2004

Publisher:

Blurb

Rachel Miller and Darcy Rhone have been best friends since childhood. They’ve shared birthdays, the horrors of high school and even boyfriends, but while Darcy is the sort of woman who breezes through life getting what she wants when she wants it, Rachel has always played by the rules and watched her stunning best friend steal all the limelight. The one thing Rachel’s always had over Darcy is the four-month age gap which meant she was first to being a teenager, first to drive, first to everything – but now she’s about to be first to thirty. And Darcy still has a charmed life.

On the eve of her thirtieth birthday, Rachel is shocked to find herself questioning the status quo. How come Darcy gets a glamorous job at a PR firm and the perfect boyfriend, while Rachel grinds away at her despised job as an attorney and remains painfully single. Is it just luck? Or, looking back at their friendship and their lives together, is it a bit more complicated than that? Then an accidental fling complicates everything, and it’s time for Rachel to make a few hard choices. And she’s suddenly forced to learn that sometimes true love comes at a price …

Review

My goodness, this is a book that’s been on my TBR pile for quite some time. I’ve been on a mission to Kill My TBR this year, and when I came to choosing my book this one leapt out at me. I read Something Borrowed within 24 hours and absolutely loved it. As soon as I’d finished it I went on to download the e-book sequel/companion novel, Something Blue, and read that within 24 hours too. As I read them back to back, I’m going to discuss them in a joint review.

Let’s get cracking. Something Borrowed had a fantastic opening chapter, it’s straight into the action and the lines of friendship are challenged immediately. The dynamic for the protagonists, Rachel and Darcy, are clear from the get-go. Rachel has a meeker personality, she’s shy and a hard working lawyer – and always seems to be in the shadows of best friend, Darcy. Well, now Darcy is absolutely the opposite. She’s extremely outgoing, the life of the party – and party she does. She even works in PR, throwing fabulous events for her clients. Needless to say, when Darcy was introduced to the handsome Dex (Rachel’s good friend from law school) she sunk her claws in – much to Rachel’s dismay as she’d always had a thing for him.

What I really appreciated about these novels is that they’re not your standard chick-lit. What I mean by this is that, they’re not revolving around a romantic relationship. I say that loosely, because the drama of this novel comes from Rachel and Dex having an affair. This however, is not the main focus. The main focus is on the dynamics of an un-even friendship, and the author explores the boundaries in an interesting way. What I mean is, the author actually makes you root for a character (Rachel) who has done something the majority would find unspeakable – she stole her best friend’s fiancé.

Darcy really isn’t a likeable character. She’s pegged as the friend that steals everything away, so is it okay that Rachel stole something back? In Something Blue, we read from Darcy’s perspective and I think this book has some of the strongest character development I’ve ever seen. In fact, I ended up liking this book even more than Something Borrowed. I never thought I would because I couldn’t stand Darcy. Both plots were very engaging, and the suspense of the affair really does keep you turning the pages. Both books had fantastic realistic dialogue, especially Darcy’s ‘say-it-as-it-is’ personality and the pace was perfect for both.

I’d highly recommend both books, and make sure you read them in order as it’d spoil things if you didn’t. The author brings an engaging story, and spins the classic ‘boy meets girl’ storyline into something quite extraordinary. Overall, I was very impressed with both instalments, and I was even pleasantly surprised with Something Blue. I loved that author analyses the dynamics of female friendship, and made me root for a character I wouldn’t have usually.

Excellent reads and some would say they’re some of the top in the ‘chick-lit’ genre. Recommend!

Leave a Reply

