Top 5 Wednesday: Halloween Recommendations

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Halloween Recommendations

What a perfect topic for this week! I absolutely love Halloween and I love reading creepy books. Saying that, I haven’t really read many horror books so for this list I’ve compiled books that have freaked me out in some way or another. Perhaps then, this may be a good list for those wanting to read a book that’s a bit darker but doesn’t give you nightmares.

We Were Liars

We Were Liars be E. Lockhart

When I read this book I went into it completely blind, and I’d suggest the same for you if you haven’t read it already. All I can say is that this is a perfect example of a book that doesn’t necessarily have to scare the life out of you, but it will definitely give you that sense of uncanny that you want for Halloween. Just like any good Halloween film, this book is a slow burner that packs a lot of punch in at the end.

Every You Every Me

Every You, Every Me by David Levithan

A reason read for me, and I can honestly say this book freaked me out. This high school-set psychological tale, a tormented teen named Evan starts to discover a series of unnerving photographs—some of which feature him. Someone is stalking him, and threatening him. Ariel, his best friend is gone, and Evan thinks someone is punishing him for it. The black and white photos interspersed within the text really are creepy, and I found them to give me goosebumps. It’s a quick read too, so perfect for a Halloween evening.

Precious Thing

Precious Things by Colette McBeth

I reviewed this book last year, and what I loved about it was that it really did make my heart race. I know it’s a chilling book when I start to look over my shoulder to see if there’s anyone there. Rachel’s old high school friend, Clara, is missing. It’s not until Rachel unearths some information that she starts to question every thing she once knew. Best friends make the deadliest of enemies. Loved this book last year, and I think this thriller will be a perfect Halloween read to spice up the festivities.

The Haunting Of Sunshine Girl

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

When I saw this book in Waterstones, I picked it up immediately because I knew it’d be a perfect read this October. Even the cover alone screams at me. I read this book because the blurb alone pulled me in, In that place where you’re more asleep than awake, I hear something. A phrase uttered in a child’s voice, no more than a whisper: night night. I would absolutely cry if that happened to me, without a doubt. Anything ghost, demon, haunting related truly terrifies me – this book delivered. What’s more terrifying is that with a movie you can turn it off – this book stays in your imagination. Read it!

Gone Girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Another book that isn’t exactly horror, yet it is horrifying. On their fifth wedding anniversary, Amy has gone missing and everyone turns their attentions to husband Nick. When the police make some grim discoveries, it leaves them and the rest of the town wondering was everything happy in their marriage? It really is a stomach dropping read. It’s very dark and very twisted – which frankly, would be a highlight of any Halloween! I loved this book so much, and the film adaptation too.

I hope you liked my Halloween recommendations. Make sure to leave me some recommendations for books you love that make you want to hide under the duvet. I’m more interested in reading ghost related stories at the moment, because I like that I can embrace the fear and it’s not all about the jumo factor like the movies. Don’t forget to check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday, the topic will be: TBA

Leave a Reply

