The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

The Accident Season

The Accident Season

by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Published: 2nd July 2015

Publisher: Corgi Books

Blurb

It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

Review

Unsurprisingly, this was yet another book I’d heard about through the means of Booktube. There seemed to be a fair bit of hype brewing around this debut novel, and I simply had to jump on the band wagon and form my own opinion. I’d picked it up along with another book from a local Waterstones, and began reading it not long after purchasing it. When I opened the book to begin reading it, I realised that it was actually signed by the author! I was pleasantly surprised by this, as they usually pop stickers on the front to say that they are.

Anyway, I was drawn to this book because of its incredible sounding premise. The blurb is captivating and definitely encourages you to dive straight in to find out where this book can take you. Clara, her sister Alice, and her ex-stepbrother Sam are affected by something they’ve coined the accident season. The accident season means that every October they’re plagued by all sorts of undesirable events, from scratching you knee on a nail to far more serious tragedies. This is incredibly interesting because I was dying to know what caused this to occur, and what secrets this family had to share.

In terms of the final result, I was honestly a little underwhelmed. I found the plot quite difficult to engage in for the majority of the book, and it took me over a week to finish it – despite the fact it’s only 288 pages long. It’s a little confusing at times, and I wasn’t jumping at the chance to pick it up. The pace let it down for me, because I found the first half somewhat a drag to get through, and I felt it only became exciting towards the last third.

There was some quite frightening imagery that worked well in the book, especially towards the end. I particularly liked the revelations in the latter parts of the novel, and they were not predictable at all. I didn’t know that to expect and felt satisfied with where the characters ended up. The writing style reads very whimsically, and the whole book reads like a twisted dream. I was happy with how the plot worked out and I liked the overall narrative arc, pity it took so long to actually grip me in. It’s been quite a while since I’ve read a sort of paranormal, horror type read and it does encourage me to pick up some others soon.

Overall, I don’t think this book deserves tons of hype – but it’s definitely a decent read once you get into it. If you liked We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, I’d say give this a try and persevere through the slow moments. I was thoroughly creeped out at some points, and I quite liked to overall premise behind this book. I’d be interested to see what the author produces next.

I’d recommend if you are a fan of We Were Liars and are looking for a spooky read, with a lot of twists ready for Halloween!

One thought on “The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Leave a Reply

