Big Book Haul!

big book haul

Hello lovelies – today I’m sharing with you my big book haul!

At the beginning of July I posted my half year book haul, mainly because I’d not bought a ton of books during the first half of the year. Since then I’ve purchased quite a few and so I wanted to share those with you before it gets too ridiculous for one post.

IMG_6887

My Project Kill my TBR has obviously had a bit of a knock in terms of the purchasing of these books, so to make up for this I decided to create a system. If I can’t fit these books into my bookcase without stacking them in front, etc, then I will take the ones off I’m least likely to read and donate them to charity. This has been going well so far!

Anyway, lets get crackin’ with this book haul!

IMG_6888

I purchased these books from Waterstones

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

This book has been on my wishlist for a little while now. My good friend, and fellow blogger, Abbey purchased this book whilst we were shopping together in Liverpool. That time I didn’t pick it up but I regretted not getting it so I picked it up the next time. From the blurb, this book follows a character that is transgender. I think it’ll be a fantastic read.

The Improbable Theory of Ana & Zak by Brian Katcher

I spotted this book on a display table in the YA section of the Liverpool Waterstones, that had a sign that said ‘Heartfelt, moving and life changing books’. This table held a few others that I had read and loved, such as, Playlist for the Dead. When I read the blurb for this one, it felt very much like Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist as the plot seems to happen in just one night. Looking forward to this.

More Weird Things Customers Say In Bookshops by Jen Campbell

I spotted this on the way to the tills, and simply couldn’t leave it on the shelf. Earlier in the year I read and loved the first of these humourous books, and when I spotted this and that it was signed by the author it was an inevitable purchase. They are a quick read, but one that can be re-read many times. Definitely a fun read.

All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman

Another book that was added to my wishlist a while ago. I’d heard about this book through Carrie Hope Fletcher, and she claims this is her favourite book. When I went to look for it in Waterstones I was initially surprised by the size of this book. It’s only about 100 pages long, and so I was a little apprehensive about paying nearly £8 for it. However, I had £10 off my books for collecting 10 stamps so it worked out about £5. I’ve read this already, and I loved it!

IMG_6889

I purchased these books from Waterstones.

Amy & Matthew: A Love Story by Cammie McGovern

Another book I purchased when I was with Abbey, in fact one of I think seven that I purchased that day. I spotted this book on a display table and there was only one left. Initially I was attracted to the cover, and went to read the blurb. The blurb is a brief but intriguing enough to get me to scan it into Goodreads. The ratings were good, so I took a chance with it. Let’s hope it’s not a book I regret trying.

The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke

This book was a purchase that was encouraged by Abbey – who I seem to buy a lot of books with. I joke with her that she enables me, and this one was definitely enabled. We both loved the blurb for this book, it does sound mysterious and quite a gripping read. Also, completely superflous but it’s a floppy paperback and it makes for a nice reading experience because I’m not worried about breaking the spine.

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

My, my, there is a lot of hype building around this book – and I’m quite excited to get stuck into it. When I saw it in Waterstones with the ‘buy one get one half price’ offer, I jumped on the chance to pick it up. The premise sounds interesting, and it’s something I’m interested to see where it goes. Side note, I saw that Zoe Sugg (the popular youtube) really enjoyed this book – and she really sold it to me. She doesn’t often mention books on her channel, so when she does I tend to listen up.

Amy & Rogers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Again, this is a book that had been on my wishlist for a while. I held off picking it up until the summer months because I felt it’d be a better read for this time of year. I didn’t want to be sat under blankets with the heating on when the characters are travelling in the sun! I’d heard great things about it, and I heard there was a scrapbook sort of element that makes it interesting. I have since read this book, and I can confirm it’s really good!

IMG_6893

I bought these from Waterstones

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

In terms of precendented purchases, this one was one that I didn’t anticipate buying. When I was shopping with Abbey, we both saw this and thought it sounded good. Abbey had read another book from this author (the next one in this list in fact), and rated it highly. I figured I’d start out with this one because it was in the ‘buy one get one half price’ offer. This is another I’ve already read, and I loved it.

The Manifesto On How To Be Interesting by Holly Bourne

After I’d finished the last book mentioned, I practically ran out to get this book and read more from this author. I’d heard more great things about this one, and knew it’d be a good read. I’ve since read and loved it, and will likely buy anything this author writes. The next being Soulmate. Side note, this book has orange edged pages which I always love. It gives it something extra!

Remix by Non Pratt

As soon as I heard that this author was writing a new novel, I was quite excited to get my hands on it. I absolutely loved Trouble, so much so that it was on my favourite’s list last year. I was interested to see what else this author would offer us and I wasn’t dissapointed. Of course, I’ve read this one already too. This books follows two girls as they head to a music festival.

Extraordinary Means by Robin Schneider

I surprised myself and bought more books that I had anticpated! I’d popped into Waterstones whilst I was in Liverpool without any books in mind. This book was sat on the same table as a book I mentioned early, that claims these books to be ‘Heartfelt, moving and life changing books’. I picked this one up after reading the blurb, and I have high hopes for it. One of the reviews on the back said that fans of John Green will enjoy this too.

IMG_6890

I purchased these books from Waterstones

Tape by Steven Camden

I’d first heard of this book from a book haul on Youtube. They’d read the blurb of this book and it does sound quite interesting. It sounds like it has elements of Thirteen Reasons Why and Landline, and that’d be a good read. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book though, so I’m hoping not to be dissapointed in it.

It’s About Love by Steven Camden

This one I’ve heard far more positive reviews for, and it has better ratings on Goodreads. The reason I feel I’d love this book is that the characters study film studies, which you may already know I studied as part of my degree. I’m thinking I’ll relate quite well to these characters and I’ll fly through the book. This one was also in the ‘buy one get one half price’ offer, and I purchased it along with the next mention.

Invisibility by Andrea Cremer & David Levithan

Well, well, well… are we surprised to see a book written by David Levithan in this book haul? It was inevitable to be fair. I’m slowly collecting the works of this author, as I consider him one of my favourites and his has quite the catalogue. For this particular book he has co-written this book with an author I’ve never read before so I’m interested to see what she has to offer. The concept also sounds fantastic.

Another Day by David Levithan

Oh, look! Another David Levithan novel! … Anyway, this book made my ‘books I’m most anticipating’ list, and I was actually honoured to receive and e-arc of this book. Why have I bought the paperback, you say? Purely for collection purposes. Especially because I wasn’t overly moved by this read. It’s a companion novel to a much loved novel, Every Day. I must say I quite like the Electric Monkey editions, and seeing the text on the front. Not to mention, a lot of DL other novels are brightly colourful and make a wonderful rainbow on my shelf.

IMG_6891

I bought these from Waterstones

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Booktube was the reason I picked this book up. The premise sounded really interesting, and a lot of hype was starting to build around it and I had to find out for myself. I was pleasantly surprised to find this book was actually signed by the author. Usually the booksellers pop a sticker on the front to say it’s signed, but it wasn’t until I got it home and opened this book to start to read that I noticed it was signed. Definitely a happy surprise!

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

I absolutely adore the sound of this book, and it had made a booktuber’s favourites list so I thought I’d give it a try. From the blurb I gathered it’s about a baby that is left at a book shop to be raised by the owner, and the impact this has on their lives. Life in a book shop? Yep, need that in my life. This was also in the ‘buy one get one half price offer’ with the previous mention, so was a decent price.

Night Owls by Jenn Bennett

Another Waterstones display table pick – along with the next mention. I’ve got to say, those display tables are really effective! This particular book came from ‘Summer Reads’ and it sounds absolutely adorable. Two people meet on a night bus, and have an adventure together, to put it in completely basic terms. The blurb drew me in and I wanted to find out more about this book. As this was another unexpected purchase, I quickly researched and checked the Goodreads ratings too. Looks good!

Paper Weights by Meg Haston

As I mentioned, this came from the table ‘Heartfelt, moving and life changing books’. It sounds just that, from what I can gather this book is about someone that is really poorly in some way, and they’re in treatment. They want to dissapear, they don’t want to get better. I’d really like to know what there story is, why they feel that way and what the outcome is. It does claim to be a haunting and emotional read so I might need a box of tissues.

IMG_6896

I purchased one book from Amazon, the other two from Asda.

Virgin by Radhika Sanghani

I bought this book when I purchased a birthday gift for a friend, and it was said to be very Bridget Jones’ Diary-esque and it had decent enough ratings too. I think I got it for a few pounds so it didn’t break the bank either. I have read this and it didn’t rock my world. It was a pretty average read, so I probably regret getting this but it’s done now, so nevermind.

Me & Mr J by Rachel McIntyre

I had made a mental note to not casually buy random books in supermarkets, as I realised I was never reading them. This book does sound interesting, and from the blurb it sounds like it covers some interesting topics. Some quite controversial. I hope to break the tradition of never picking up Supermarket purchases and get to this soon.

Juvie by Steve Watkins

Another supermarket purchase, with an catching premise. I thought this one sounded like a YA version of  the Netflix show, Orange is the New Black. It has that sort of vibe, and I haven’t read anything like that before. Hoping again, that I won’t regret purchasing this and that I’ll get to it soon. My reading pace etc, has improved a lot more this year so here’s hoping.

Phew! That was a long one, right? I hope you enjoyed seeing the books I’ve picked up in the last few months. I’m quite happy to realise that a good 90% of the books were purchased from Waterstones. It feels good to support bookshops. If there’s anything you think I need in my life, let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Big Book Haul!

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed Am I Normal Yet? & The Manifesto! Holly Bourne has definitely become one of my favourite authors. A sequel to Am I Normal Yet? is coming out in February next year too! So excited for it.

    Lauren x
    http://whatlaurendidtoday.blogspot.co.uk/

    PS I would love to hear your thoughts on The Art Of Being Normal. It’s been on my ‘want’ list for ages but I still haven’t picked it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

