Top 5 Wednesday: Title Fonts On Covers

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Title Fonts On Covers

I loved this weeks topic, and I spent some time going through my bookcases to select this weeks choices. The great thing about Top 5 Wednesday is that a lot of the topics make me notice things I wouldn’t really have otherwise. When I went through my books to look for some examples, I realised that there’s a vast amount of fonts and that sometimes they’re quite fitting for the book. I’ll explain more when I show you the five…

IMG_7064

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

As you can see, the font for this book is a curly cursive. The font has been used to accompany the cover pictures, a telephone. The font is used to represent an old phone cord. It’s very fitting for the novel, as the character uses her old phone to contact her husband before they settled down. I like that they incorporated the font into the picture and that it’s different from the just the plain boring fonts.

IMG_7065

#Scandal by Sarah Ockler

As you can see from the picture, this book uses the font to represent social media. In fact, Facebook uses this very font (which is Tahoma), and again this ties nicely with the novel. The character in this novel finds herself front and centre on a Facebook gossip page, after she’s seen kissing her best friends boyfriend. I like that they’ve thought about font so that it’s authentic to what we see everyday on social media, even included the popular hashtag symbol.

IMG_7066

Hello, Goodbye and Everything In Between by Jennifer E. Smith

What I appreciate about the font used on this book, is that it also feels like it represents the contents inside. As you can see in the picture, they have used a bubbly, large, bold print, which gives the impression that the contents inside will be light-hearted and fun. They’ve even coloured the font in an ombré style, which could mean that the characters have to transition to be whole. I like that they’ve taken a straight forward font and made it vibrant.

IMG_7067

The Art Of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

Another example of a book that I believe uses it’s font to express the inner content. As you can see in the picture, the image they’ve used is a male symbol splitting in half, with a female symbol almost stepping out of it. This books content is a story about a person that is transgender, and their journey with that. What I thought about the font is that it’s stereotypically girly. The very curly cursive, and the little circles over the i’s, comes across as very feminine – just as the character is.

IMG_7068

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling

We’ll just ignore the fact that it’s another reference to Harry Potter… Anyway, check out the font on this bad boy! Granted the different editions look different, and the franchise font is quite unique. What I like about this is that they’ve taken the plain letters and played around with the typography to make it appear magical. They’ve added the lightening bolt, changed the sizes of each letter, and rotated them slightly to create something that’s unusual.

I hope you liked this weeks Top 5 Wednesday post. It was certainly a fun one to create, and I know I’ll appreciate the font on covers more in the future. Make sure to check out next weeks Top 5 Wednesday, and the topic is: Banned Books I’ve Read.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Title Fonts On Covers

  1. I really love the typography of all of Jennifer E. Smith’s books. That hand drawn feel is very appealing, and tends to fit the themes in her stories very nicely. I love those editions of Harry Potter as well; they are gorgeous! Definitely need to add those to my collection at some point! Great choices 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

