How I Organise My Diary!

diary organisation

Hello lovelies – today I wanted to share with you all how I keep my diary organised.

This will be a quick post, but I figured it’d be an interesting one – because, I find other people’s organisation interesting. I love finding new organisation tips, and to see what works for others. I’ve found the simple things I do in my diary keep me organised and ensure I don’t forget anything.

Firstly, I’ll mention the diary I use – which is a personalised planner from personal-planner.com. I have done a review on their planners, which you can find here: Personal Planner review. I love my planner because it suits my needs perfectly. I’ve picked the layout, and the pages within the diary so that I’m using it to the full extent. There’s no useless academic pages, that I don’t need anymore – and I even have a colouring book for when I’m needing to relax and de-stress.

IMG_6515

Anyway, here is how I organise my diary. The thing that I find the most helpful is using different coloured pens. It’s obviously not a revolutionary idea… but I find it really useful. I colour code the different areas in my life, so that on a glance I can see the things that I need to be aware of. If it’s work related, my eyes can zone in on the colour that is designated for that information. Not only is it helpful, but it’s also aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Might as well make it fun and pretty! The pens I use are the Bic Cristal fun 1.6mm pens, I love these! They’re about £2 for a pack of 10 in the colours: purple, pink, blue and green. They write really well, and the ink is nice and opaque. I’ve found with generic coloured pens in the past that the colour isn’t really bright enough to read properly, but these are perfect.

IMG_6522

Every Sunday I will sit down with my diary and make sure it’s up to date, and check if there’s anything that needs to be written in. I will check it daily as I’m doing things, but Sunday is usually my planning days. On this day I will brain storm my blog ideas, and plan my days off so that they’re productive – either thoroughly cleaning the house or an afternoon of blog post writing. As I schedule my blog posts, if I have an idea for a blog post on a certain day – I will write it on a post it note and stick it on to the date. When it’s been written and scheduled, I will then write it in. I have space on the page to write any blog posts I need to write – and then I can check them off when they’re completed.

IMG_6706

As you can see in the picture above – this is a typical week for me. There’s some weeks that have more or less, but this is the average. I write all of my blog posts and info in purple because it’s my favourite colour and my work stuff is in blue because my work uniform is blue. Anything that I have to do is in pink, because it matches the diary and it’ll be the colour I use the most. I say ‘to do’ but I add the books I’m reading in pink too. Any appointments or social events are in green, because that’s the colour that’s left. I love that I have plenty of space in the diary to write every thing I need.

IMG_6708

My diary organisation isn’t the most innovative, but I think it’s effective. I’d love to hear how you organise your planners, let me know if you have any good tips. 

4 thoughts on “How I Organise My Diary!

  1. Pingback: Programs I Use For My Blog | Into The BookCase

Leave a Reply

