Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Things About Blogging

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Favourite Things About Blogging

A Creative Outlet

Most of you know already that I studied Creative Writing & Film Studies at University, and for my degree I had to produce pieces of fictional work alongside academic writing. Once I left Uni, I had to find a job that would pay the bills and I missed the creative outlet that my coursework offered. This little space on the internet gives me chance to express myself and I feel like I’m satisfying my creative side.

Recommendations

Since I began my blog my love for reading has become more incessant. I’d been inspired by other bloggers and their passion for books, which meant that I picked up books I wouldn’t have ordinarily. When I began my blog, I was given lots of recommendations that have led to be some of my all time favourite books. Having my own blog means that I’ve been able to recommend books back in to the community, and hopefully will inspire someone else to try a book.

Networking

One thing that I’ve found absolutely incredible is the ability to network with authors or publishing houses, and the chance to give feedback to them. Gone are the days when you finish a book and that’s it. Now, I’m able to write-up a review and the author is able to read that. Twitter in particular is helpful for this I’ve found. I’ve loved the opportunity to review books for publishers and help generate hype for those books that are phenomenal. It’s truly an honour, and I’m very thankful for the chance.

The Community!

Without a doubt this is my absolute favourite things about blogging – the community and the chance to meet people I wouldn’t have met otherwise. Particularly those that are overseas. I’ve already met some fantastic people who are like-minded and enjoy similar things to myself. It’s fantastic knowing people that you can discuss your interests with, for example, I can talk to people discuss my favourite books with others that have read it also.

Friends!

The book (and life etc) blogging community has made it possible for me to meet some wonderful people who I would absolutely consider friends. From this I’ve become close with Abbey, who was a childhood friend that I’d lost contact with until we caught up because we both had blogs. I’ve been able to go to book signings with them, and also go to them for advice when I need someone to talk to. They never judge you, and you share the same passions and interests too.

I hope you enjoyed finding out my favourite things about blogging! This is truly a fantastic and fulfilling hobby, and I can see myself doing this for quite some time. Make sure to check out next weeks Top 5 Wednesday post, and the next topic is: Top Books With Mental Illness/Health

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Things About Blogging

Leave a Reply

