Top 5 Wednesday: Fictional Cities

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Fictional Cities

When I saw this months topics I was probably least looking forward to this list, because I feel like I keep repeating the same books. You’ll probably have seen a couple from this list being repeated but alas, I love them all. I had a lot of fun brainstorming this list – and in the end thought of quite a few that I enjoyed. Here are five of them…

Hogsmeade

Hogsmeade from The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

See what I mean by repetitive? I’m fairly sure I’ve mentioned Harry Potter in 90% of my Top 5 Wednesday posts. Still, this ficitional city (granted it’s probably more a village) was one of the first that came to mind. For those that don’t know, Hogsmeade is a little village not too far away from Hogwarts castle that the students get to visit. It holds lots of shops, and places to eat and drink. Such as, Zonko’s Joke Shop and Honeydukes sweet shop.

Rivendell

Rivendell from The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien

 If I lived in Middle Earth, I think I’d be an elf that lived in Rivendell. When I saw the visual representation in the movie adaptations, I fell in love and imagined what it’d be like to float around there. Every thing seems very tranquil and relaxing, and well, peaceful. I’d love every inch of the place! Again, apologise for the re-mention of The Lord of the Rings – but I’ve not read tons of other fantasy books.

Emerald City

Emerald City from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Inspired by my fairly recent trip to watch Wicked the musical, I added Emerald City to this list. This city hosts to Wizard of Oz, and is at the end of the infamous yellow brick road. One thing about this city is that it is green… well, mainly because you have to wear green tinted glasses to make it appear so. That pesky Wizard, eh! Definitely a worthy place in this list regardless of that.

Whoville

Whoville from How The Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss

Now tell me, who wouldn’t want to live in a world hidden inside a snowflake? Especially a little town that goes all out to celebrate Christmas! This is a quaint snowy town that is inhabited by the Whos – who are described as merry and warm hearted folk. Just north of Whoville lives the Grinch, on Mount Crumpit, who detests all festive cheer and wants to rid the town of all of the festive cheer. I’d love to live in Whoville because I love celebrating Christmas!

Neverland

Neverland from Peter and Wendy by J. M. Barrie

It must be said, Peter Pan is actually my favourite Disney movie. It was adapted from the novel written by J. M. Barrie, which I haven’t read yet. I love the idea of an island filled with such magical entities, and beautiful surroundings where you can have endless adventures – and never grow up! Imagine meeting all the fairies, and the mermaids. Also, flying around and evading Captain Hook. Yep – perfect!

I hope you enjoyed this weeks Top 5 Wednesday post. I thoroughly enjoyed coming up with five fictional cities, so much so that this list could have been very long. There’s so many others – for example, Wonderland from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland!! Anyway, make sure to check back next week for the new topic, which will be: favourite things about bookblogging!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Fictional Cities

Leave a Reply

