Join Me: Watching Wicked

Wicked

Hello lovelies – I wanted to share with you my experience watching the theatre show, Wicked!

Wicked is a stage show which is based on the book by Gregory Maguire. (I haven’t read it, yet.) In this story, we head to the land of Oz to see the time before Dorothy arrived. We see the untold story of Glinda the good, and Elphaba the wicked witch of the west. It first appeared on Broadway in 2003 and went on to be a smash hit, travelling all around the world. Laura and I went to watch the performance at Salford Lowry, near Manchester. I want to take the opportunity to thank Laura and Helen for allowing me to go and see this production, I’m incredibly thankful to you both.

I remember being introduced to the magic that is Wicked back in high school. My long time friend, Jared is a massive fan of musicals, and he would introduce me to all the greats. I remember hearing Defying Gravity for the first time and falling in love. Since then, it was on my bucket list to watch this show live.

IMG_6509IMG_6490

For years, I’d watched clips on Youtube of the original cast and I would have loved to have been able to see them live. Kristin Chenoweth and Idena Menzel are legends in my humble opinion, and they really set the bar for the people who would be cast to play their parts. With that being said, I felt that Ashleigh Grey (who played Elphaba) and Emily Tierney (who played Glinda) did a fantastic job. Their chemistry was sensational and I believed every one of their moments together. Their voices were out of this world, particularly Ashleigh’s – I was stunned by how much control she has, and how dynamic her performances were. She really did have some big notes to hit, and I remember holding my breath before the climactic note in Defying Gravity. Not to worry though, she absolutely nailed it and I had goosebumps.

The story is actually a very beautiful one. I don’t want to give too much away to those that don’t want to be spoiled, but the message is a powerful one – and it hits home for sure. It reminds us to be happy with who we are, and think about our actions before we just dive in sometimes. Most importantly, don’t let anyone or anything hold you back from your full potential. I love the solidarity in a female friendship too, it’s refreshing to see with the popular culture representation being that all girls are catty and deceitful. I loved getting to see another side to some iconic characters, and ‘learning the truth’ about the relationship between Glinda and Elphaba.

WICKED2IMG_6505

The set itself is very aesthetically pleasing, each scene was perfectly designed and the characters were able to engage with their surroundings. I thought the costumes were incredible, the whole show has a cirque du soleil style vibe and the costumes follow along that theme. Glinda’s outfits in particular, were beautiful and matched her girly personality well. The music was everything I expected, and it meant so much more to see the songs performed live. Both Laura and I teared up a little when we saw For Good being performed, as it touched us and reminded us of each other. Seeing Defying Gravity live was a dream come true, and I had goosebumps (and a little happy tear) watching it.

IMG_6511IMG2

I felt completely euphoric watching the entire thing, and I would love to relive it again. I highly recommend you go and see this musical. You honestly will not regret it!

2 thoughts on “Join Me: Watching Wicked

  1. I am now dying to go watch it again, and read the book! I feel like there are so many important messages beneath the surface that you need to appreciate with a second or third experience 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

