Every Day by David Levithan

Every Day

Every Day

by David Levithan

Published: 2nd September 2013

Publisher: Electric Monkey

Blurb

Every Day I am someone else. I am myself – I know I am myself – but I am also someone else. It has always been like this.

Each morning, A wakes up in a different body. There’s never any warning about who it will be, but A is used to that. Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

And that’s fine – until A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with – every day…

Review

As you may already know, I would consider David Levithan as one of my favourite authors. I’m slowly working my way through his collection of novels (and there are a lot). Out of all of the novels he has produced, this is the one that everybody says they love, without fail. I had that in mind when I began reading this novel, and I’m incredibly happy to say not only was did I love this book – this book is actually one of my all-time favourite reads, ever.

What struck me at first was the premise of this novel, it is one of the most original YA books I’ve seen in a long time. In this novel we follow A, who wakes up every day in another person’s body. That is it in the most simple of explanations – but the possibilities are endless with this book. A wakes up in the body of Justin, and he thinks it will just be like every other day, until A meets Rhiannon and everything changes. I found A to be honest, humble and gracious with the gift they have. They try not to mess up the life of the person they control for the day. However, when Rhiannon comes in the picture – A must do whatever they can to be with her. I loved this, not only because the story held some sort of romantic element – but the situations he ends up in are brilliant.

This book really fascinated me. I was obsessed with reading about how A got through their day. For example, we find out that A has access to the body’s previous memories, and sometimes has to access them in order to get through the day. There are hilarious, shocking and touching stories about some of the people A inhabits, and I loved having snippets into so many people’s different lives. I enjoyed the way Levithan writes these different characters so that the reader can imagine them for themselves. He described them briefly, and we find out things like how there room looks and how the person is with their parents. From those extra bits of information, I could clearly picture each character.

The pace of this book was perfect, and it really was a one-sitting, 24 hour, sort of read for me. I chose to read it during the #boutofbooksreadathon and it made for quite the ideal choice. It really in a page turner, once I’d fallen into this fascinating world – I couldn’t put it down until I’d finished it. Asides from learning about the strange life that A leads, I enjoyed seeing how Rhiannon interacted with A – I really loved their relationship, and I was surprised to see how it ended. Levithan really has left us wanting more, and I’m praying he writes some sort of sequel. I know he has penned a companion novel called Another Day, which is basically this story from Rhiannon’s point of view. I cannot wait to read that.

Overall, there is no way this review can do this book justice. It truly is a marvellous read, and I’ve not been this emotionally attached to a book in some time. I loved every single thing about it – there is absolutely nothing I would change about it. I devoured it, and I highly encourage you to pick this up if you haven’t already. I know I’ll be thinking about the endless possibilities this book has created in my mind, I love that it’s a book that leaves me thinking long after I finish it. There aren’t enough words to explain my love for this book. One my all -time favourite reads, without a doubt.

Read it! Please! Make this your next read, you won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “Every Day by David Levithan

  1. Pingback: Another Day by David Levithan | Into The BookCase

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2015 | Into The BookCase

Leave a Reply

