Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Required Reading

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Favourite Required Reading

During my years in education I was required to read quite a number of different texts. I probably was required to read more books in University than the others, but I will choose 5 favourites from the different stages of education: primary school, high school, college and Uni. I’ll choose more Uni texts, as I have more to choose from, because come to think of it I didn’t have any required books to read at college.

The Magic Key

1. Biff, Chip & Kipper Adventures by Roderick Hunt.

In my primary school we were required to read this series when we were learning to read. This series had hundreds of different books, and they followed the adventures of children, Biff, Chip and Kipper. Also, their little dog, Floppy. If I remember correctly, they had a magic key that allowed them to travel to different places and have adventures. They were great books to learn from.

Flour Babies

2. Flour Babies by Anne Fine

I avoided the usual Of Mice and Men one because I actually didn’t care for that book too much – don’t get me wrong, I could appreciate it as a text but wasn’t my cup of tea. However, I distinctly remembering reading Flour Babies as a class in English, and we’d each have to take turns reading a page or so. Well, me being me, always raced ahead because I wanted to know what was going on. The days it was my turn I didn’t know where everyone was up to, so I’d have to concentrate and resist racing ahead!

And When Did You Last See Your Father

3. And When Did You Last See Your Father? by Blake Morrison

I remember being assigned this book in my first semester of Creative Writing. I believe the module was on life writing, and this was a book we had to read and write an essay on. At the time, I found this book really difficult to read because I’d just lost my Grandad, and this book deals with the loss of a loved one. When I did get around to reading it, I did very much enjoy it and it made me cry a lot.

V for Vendetta

4. V for Vendetta by Alan Moore

What a great book to be required to read, eh? I was asked to read V for Vendetta during my third and final year for the Film Studies module, text to screen. This was the first graphic novel I’d ever owned and read, and I loved it. The story was incredibly interesting and addictive, and that class was one I enjoyed the most as we were able to discuss the elements involved with adapting it.

Big Fish

5. Big Fish by Daniel Wallace

Another fantastic book I was assigned in Uni – again for the text to screen module. I loved this book so much, and it made for interesting discussion in the class – as it really does have an unreliable narrator. It’s a wonderful read and I flew through it quite quickly. Usually I hate being forced to read books, but this one I sat and gladly read without any hesitation.

Which required books did you enjoy reading? I have quite a few that I fell in love with, so it’s a shame I could only pick five. These are some that stood out to me. Make sure to check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday, and the topic will be: Tropes I Hate

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Required Reading

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Top Graphic Novels | Into The BookCase

Leave a Reply

