Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Book Maps

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Favourite Book Maps

As soon as I saw this week’s topic I knew it would mean going to my bookshelves and searching through my books to find some the are appropriate for the topic. Non immediately sprang to mind – which, is because I don’t own tons of books that have maps in them. Thankfully I did find five, and I’ll share them with you now. Granted I reckon 3 of them are obvious choices, and I’m sure you’ll see them on many lists but I found two that might be different.

1. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. Tolkien

LOTR

I always think about the locations used to film the movie adaptation of The Lord of the Rings, and I remember how idllyic and beautiful most of them were. Every time I see this map I picture those locations and I hear the infamous music from Howard Shore. I’d personally like to live either in The Shire or in Rivendell.

2. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

GoT

I always imagined Westeros to resemble the United Kingdom, and it does sort of have a similar shape. I figured that The Kings Landing would be London, and that I figured I’d be in Winterfell. Which I don’t mind because I like the Starks. Either way, this map is a pretty good visual point to refer to when reading or even watching The Game of Thrones.

3. The Narnia Chronicles by C. S. Lewis

Narnia

I’d completely forgotten that Narnia had a map! I’d actually googled to see what books do have maps, and saw this series has one. Granted in the editions I own, they don’t contain any maps, just illustrations of the characters etc. I thought this one looked quite cool also, and I think I’d pull it out if I was to ever go back and read the Narnia Chronicles.

4. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

When I went searching in my bookshelves, I remembered that We Were Liars held a little map. Granted, it’s not a world building map used in the fantasy worlds depicted in the books above. Despite it’s small size, I found that this really was a great element to this book. When I was reading it, I kept flicking back through and looking to see where the people involved were.

5. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Amy&Rogers

I’m thinking that this one might technically be bending the rules a little bit… but it still contains a map, so I justified it. This book holds lots of different visual images that aid the reader throughout the book, including a little map which shows us where the characters are heading on their road trip. I think this adds a lot to the experience of reading a book, and it makes the reader feel like they’re getting involved.

I’m curious to hear what books you’ve seen or read that have maps in them. Do let me know which are your favourites. I hope you liked this week’s Top 5 Wednesday post, check back next Wednesday for another topic, which will be: Favourite Required Reading

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Book Maps

Leave a Reply

