My Top 10 Guilty Pleasure TV Shows

guilty pleasure tv shows

Hello lovelies – today I wanted to share with you my top 10 guilty pleasure TV shows.

When I say guilty pleasure, I mean those shows that I tend to watch when Stewart is out because he rolls his eyes at them. I absolutely would consider them guilty pleasures because I know they’re not exactly television gold. For some reason, they still engage me enough to keep me coming back for more. If you like any of these shows, I’d love to hear why you like them and what it is that makes you return to them.

In no particular order. Here we go then… 

16 and PregnantTeen Mom

1. 16 & Pregnant + Teen Mom

I’ve watched this show for a fairly long time, back when the original girls featured in their own episodes. One thing I like about this show, and Teen Mom is that it’s a very good indication of the trials and tribulations of having children at a young age. It’s very dramatic at times, which is probably why I like most of these shows – I love watching drama, I just don’t want it in my personal life. There are moments that made me cry, particularly Catelynn and Tyler’s adoption process. They’re my favourite people on the show, along with Maci.

DCC

2. Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders: Making the Team

One thing I love to watch is dancing, mainly because I haven’t got one ounce of rhythm in my bones. I’d love to be able to do even a quarter of what these ladies can do. This show focuses on a group of women auditioning to be a part of the a NFL cheerleading group. They go through rounds in the first couple of episodes which narrows them down, and then around 45 ladies are invited into a training camp. That training camp is whittled down to around 36, which make the team. I loved rooting for different girls, and seeing all the routines – along with the drama of seeing who will make it. One thing I don’t like is that some girls are cut because they don’t ‘suit the uniform’ – it’s teeny tiny!

Dance Moms

3. Dance Moms

This has got to be one of the most ridiculously dramatic shows I’ve ever seen. This show is all about a dance studio in the USA called Abbey Lee Dance Company. Now, the ALDC hosts a very talented group of young ladies (including Maddie Ziegler, the featured dancer in Sia’s hits like Chandelier), and it also hosts their mothers, who are completely neurotic and bitchy. They spend each episode squabbling over which child is at the top of the pyramid, and who is getting the most attention or solos. They’re vile to one another, and it’s a train wreck I love to tune in and see. Plus, some of the dancers they do are fantastic.

KUWTK

4. Keeping Up With The Kardashians

What can I say, I love a bit of drama and boy does this deliver. I was about to explain who these people are, but I’m pretty sure they’re known to almost everyone in some way or another. This show follows their rather interesting (to say the least) lives. There’s something I like about this, I don’t know if it’s an escapism thing, coupled with the drama, or just that I like shows that require your brain to switch off sometimes.

Catfish

5. Catfish

I wouldn’t actually say this show is that bad to be honest, in comparison to some of the others I would call train wrecks. This one does have quite an interesting concept. We follow Nev and Max as they aid the broken hearts of the internet dating world. Basically, they receive requests from people who want to find out if the person they have been in a relationship with online are real people. As you can imagine, this can have some very creepy moments and also some very surprising moments. My favourites are when the catfish is someone who they actually know, and their betrayal is revealed to them. ( It’s not good for the person it’s happening to, but excellent TV viewage).

19 Kids and Counting

6. 19 Kids and Counting

Given the latest revelation that happened with this family, I wasn’t sure whether or not to mention it. Alas, it’s still a show I watched and enjoyed so I added it to my list. This show focuses on a family in Arkansas named the Duggars. As you can probably guess, this family has 19 children (and some of those are married with children now). What I enjoyed about this show was that the family found ways to spend time with each other that didn’t involve some television and game consoles. It was also interesting to see the children grow, and learn how the family functions with so many people.

Gossip GIrl

7. Gossip Girl

Should this show still count in my list, given that it’s over? Well, it’s still a guilty pleasure show I love to watch. I own the box set of this show and love sticking episodes on in the background whilst I’m doing other things. Where to start with this? It’s a show that follows a group of high society, social-climbing teens from New York, who must avoid being blasted by an online tyrant named ‘Gossip Girl’. I feel this show bends the sense of reality a little, as I can’t imagine these 16 or 17-year-old teens running around Manhattan drinking in clubs etc. I suppose money can get you anywhere! It’s really dramatic and I loved the characters, especially Chuck and Blair.

Toddlers and tiaras

8. Toddlers in Tiaras

Controversial is the best word to describe this show. There’s something quite hideous and disturbing about what this show shares with the world, but for some damned reason – I watch it anyway. Ultimate guilty pleasure, for sure. We follow a group of girls that are entered into beauty pageants – the negative responses came from the processes the parents used to ‘get their children ready’. Those include spray tanning a two year old, amongst others. I liked watching this because, again, the drama is through the roof. It’s incredibly catty and ridiculous. I have no idea why I’ve ever watched this but now and then I come back for a fix of this show.

Extreme couponing

9. Extreme Couponing

Along with the TV show mentioned below, this is the one that doesn’t make Stewart roll his eyes. It’s actually quite a funny show, and extreme is quite a fitting adjective. The people that star in this show basically go shopping, pile their trolleys with hundreds of dollars of items and then they present a stack of religiously collected coupons at the register. The amazing thing is, they’re able to wheel out the trolleys for next to nothing – and sometimes nothing. Even the odd time, the store owes them money! Anyway, this show is actually fascinating. Their stock piles are insane, and sometimes bordering on hoarding but incredible to look at. I personally prefer the episodes where the people that do all of the couponing and donate the items to charity or use as care packages.

Obessive Compulsive Cleaners

10. Obsessive Compulsive Cleaners

I found this show on Channel 4 a while ago, and I instantly fell in love with it. This show follows a group of OCD cleaners as they challenge themselves to clean someone’s house on the opposite spectrum to their own hygiene habits. Not only is it interesting in terms of learning more about to disorder, but it’s also fun to see the houses transform. I love the conflicts as the two personalities clash. I’m loving the new series at the moment, as they’re cleaning some massive country homes. Some of the owners are barmy, but it’s fun to watch. This is the only show I actually do sit down with Stewart to watch. We both enjoy this one.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my guilty pleasure TV shows. These are the ones I have seen in the last couple of years. No doubt I have watched some other rubbish in the past. Stewart just reminded me that I was obsessed with America’s Next Top Model at one point. Ahh… so lets leave this here. Let me know what you like watching when nobody is looking, and if you’ve seen any of these shows. 

Leave a Reply

