Top 5 Wednesday: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

I’ll be honest, out of all of the topics this month I’m surprised to say – this one is the one I struggled the most with. For some reason, none sprang to mind immediately. At least none, that haven’t been done already or are in the works. For that reason I’m going to bend this one a tiny bit and include one that has already been written and released, along with some that I would like to read the perspective of.

Warning Spoilers

Max Vanderburg – from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

When I read this book early last year, I always wanted to know more about Max. He’s on the run, trying to avoid being captured by the Nazi’s. He is taken in by the Hubermann’s and hidden in their basement. Unfortunately, he has to leave as they believe the house will be raided and searched. What I want to know is the journey after that as he finally is captured, and what really happens from his point of view. He was a fantastic character, and I loved his relationship with Liesel Meminger.

Proffesor Dumbledore – from The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

As it goes, I’m pretty predictable and we all knew there would be a character from Harry Potter in this list. Out of all the amazing characters to enter into Harry’s life, there was always one that intrigued me more than the others. That was Proffesor Dumbledore. I’ve always thought that he had lived an incredible life and would make for a fantastic spin off novel. For example, we only heard snippets of his character from his brother Aberforth, and a little about his sister. I’d kill to know more about his life before he met Harry!

Haymitch Abernathy – from The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

We first see Haymitch in the Hunger Games, when he is assigned to mentor the new contestants in the games. He is a heavy drinker, has a dry sense of humour and a sharp tongue when needed. Later on in the trilogy we find out briefly what happens in his games, and how he managed to succeed. I always thought he was a solid character, and I would have loved to read a book about his experince in the games.

Natalie Prior – from The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

As soon as I read the revelations in Allegiant, I was fascinated with Natalie Prior. When I was trying to think of characters for this post, she was one that stood out. I’d love to read a book that is from Natalie’s perspective, that tells her story and her involvment in setting up the experiment. I imagined her trying to fit in with the Dauntless, and her falling in love with Andrew. What was it like coming from the outside? She has one heck of a back story, that I for one would be interested in reading.

Tiny Cooper – from Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Okay, so this is my cheat one because it’s already been written and released. Tiny Cooper is an excellent example of a side character that needed his own story. Thankfully David Levithan obliged and wrote the Tiny Cooper story as a companion novel. Tiny is a flamboyant, outgoing, free spirit who is looking for love. The companion novel tells us his story through the medium of a script. I believe it’s supposed to be a full out version of the play he was writing in Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Which side characters do you think deserve their own novels? I’d love to hear who you’d want to read about. Check back next Wednesday for another Top 5 Wednesday, and that topic will be: Favourite Character Tropes.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

Leave a Reply

