DIY: Pitta Pizzas

pitta pizza

Hello lovelies – today I wanted to share with you something I’ve been making recently, pitta pizzas!

I started on a diet back in the middle of May, and one of the things I really missed was eating pizza. That was until I came across a recipe for pitta pizzas on Aldi’s website, that offered an alternative to takeaway fatty pizzas. I really appreciated being able to have pizza without eating tons of saturated fat, and an excessive amount of calories. I like that these are really simple to throw together, and can be a bit of fun too – you could have a pizza party with friends, or be a good activity to do with children – because you can customise your toppings.

 IMG_6351

As you might be able to see, I bought all of my ingredients at Aldi. Not sure if I’ve mentioned this, but I do work for Aldi – that in no way makes my opinion biased. The products are great quality, without breaking the bank.

What you’ll need:

Wholemeal pitta bread

Tomato Puree

Light Mozarella

Customisable:

Basically you can choose whatever toppings you’d like. Some to think about are, maybe adding thinly sliced tomatoes or mixed herbs. I added pepperoni and bbq chicken pizzas to mine. I also like red onions and mushrooms on my pizzas. One extra I add sometimes is grated mozarella, as well as the light one because I like the taste of the two together. One thing to note is that if you’re dieting, beware that the topics will add up – but really, they’re a lot better than takeaways or frozen pizzas!

Here’s how you make them:

Preheat the oven to 190°C, fan 170°C or gas mark 5.

Place your pitta breads onto a baking tray, I like to use a pizza tray with holes in to so it crisps the bottoms a little more.

IMG_6352

Whilst your oven is heating up, you spread 1 teaspoon of tomato puree onto each pitta. I like to leave a couple of millimetres around the edges so that I can hold on to them.

IMG_6353

Now for the fun part! Add all of your desired toppings. One fun thing that could be fun is to invite your family or friends round and each make a combination pizza. Then score each others pizzas.

IMG_6354

Add your cheese on top, and then pop them in the oven for about 10-12 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and bubbling and then enjoy! You could also cook them under a medium to hot grill for about 6 – 8 minutes, if you’d prefer.

IMG_6355

I hope you like you pitta pizzas, let me know if you try out this recipe – and also what topping combinations you used!

One thought on “DIY: Pitta Pizzas

Leave a Reply

