My DNF Books

DNF books

Hello lovelies, today I thought I’d talk to you about my DNF books.

For those of you that don’t know, DNF stands for Did Not Finish – and I first heard of this through some booktube channels where they discussed what books they didn’t complete. For obvious reasons this post could be a bit on the negative side, and so I’m going to keep it as concise and brief as possible. If one of these books happens to be one of your favourite books, I hope this doesn’t offend you and if you feel like I need to give any of these books another shot – let me know and I’ll consider giving them another go.

I’m actually quite thankful that I only have three books to mention to you, which I consider to be a good thing. These ones I read a good chunk of the book before deciding to give up on them and move on.

Us

Us by David Nicholls

Back in October 2014, I picked this book up. I was very excited to read this, as I consider One Day by this author to be one of my favourite books. Nicholls to me writes incredible characters and fantastic dialogue – and I was expecting to see that in this novel. Don’t get me wrong, I did to an extent but I just didn’t fall in love with them. I hear I’m not alone in this one, but I was sadly quite dissapointed with this book. The protagonist found out his wife wanted to leave him, and then they were going on one last trip as a family before she moved on. Of course, I don’t know what happened to them and sadly, I wasn’t bothered to find out. It felt really slow, and at times the art references etc just went over my head. The entire time I was reading it, I felt like it  was a book that wasn’t meant for me. I’d read 170 of 395 pages, so not quite half way.

Scandal

#Scandal by Sarah Ockler

I first picked up this book back in July 2014, fully expecting for this to be a read I’d love.When I began reading this I was about to go on holiday and when I left for my trip I just put it down and never bothered to pick it back up. I really thought the premise was interesting – following a girl that falls for her best friends guy, and is outed on social media for it. This resulted in a backlash amongst her peers and I thought was going to highlight the dangers of bullying on social media. To a good enough extent, I felt it did but I think I was just hoping for more from this novel. It felt quite predictable and sadly as opposed to Us, this novel felt too young for me.  I’d read 118 of 400 pages, so just over a quarter of the book. Out of the three DNF books, this is the one I’m more likely to try again at some point.

the first phone call from heaven

The First Phone Call From Heaven by Mitch Albom

I’d tried to read this back in February when I was a big reading kick. Without internet to distract me, because I was getting ready to move and we’d cancelled it, I was ploughing through books pretty rapidly. At one point I was 7 books ahead of my goodreads challenge. When I bought this book, I went into it knowing how much I loved The Five People You Meet In Heaven by this author, and hoping for a similar experience with this one. Unfortunately, I was just a bit bored with this one – it didn’t grip me at all and I put it back down. Now, I bought this one because I thought out of the novels from this author, I liked the sound of this one the most. The idea that you could be in contact with someone who has passed really intrigued me and I wanted to see what it was all about. It wasn’t too bad, to be honest, I just wasn’t in love with the characters yet. I probably didn’t give it enough chance. Instead I opted to pick something else up that hooked me in.

There have been a few books lately that I’ve read maybe the first two chapters and put down, but that’s because I wasn’t immediately gripped at that moment. That’s not to say I’ll never pick these up again, I will definitely be giving these another. It’s just more that I wasn’t in the mood for that one at the moment.

Starter for Ten by David Nicholls

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

The Eye of Minds by James Dashner

The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick

All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

I’m really interested to see if you have any DNF books? What was the reason you decided to stop reading them? Are you someone that perserveres no matter what? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter.

10 thoughts on “My DNF Books

  1. I’ve read Mitch Albom’s ‘The First Phone Call from Heaven’ and to be honest, I’m not surprised that you put it down. For me, I had to be quite persistent in order to finish it but I think the idea was a simple one.

    The idea of being able to contact the dead via. phone is an interesting one, but as for fleshing it out into a full-blown novel, I don’t think there’s much to be developed.

    I did a review on my blog if you’re interested, but I’d say you aren’t missing out if you don’t want to try reading it again.

    Sorry, did you also say that you DNF ‘All I Know Now’? If so, definitely give that a re-read, it was such an interesting and useful book!

    Interesting post! (Apologies for the long comment!)

    Liam
    http://www.thelifeofathinker.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Ahhh, I might come back to it at some point but I’m not likely to rush to it.

      I read maybe the first chapter of All I Know Now, but ended up reading other things. I was on the edge of a reading slump. So, I was picking a bunch and putting them down again. I will definitely try it again though, I’ve heard some good things about it. 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      • OK, it’s a 3/5 in my opinion – not one of Albom’s best books!

        Of course! I thought it was a great book and would be interested to hear what you think!

        Like

  2. I haven’t read any of your DNF books, but I really want to read Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl, but haven’t been able to get my hands on it. As for my views on DNF-ing, I do it. Reading is fun for me, so if I’m reading something that I don’t like, then what’s the point? I usually try to finish a book if it’s by a favorite author, but other than that, I’ll set it down if it’s not doing it for me.

    Like

    • I read a chapter of Me, Earl and the Dying Girl. I was on the brink of a reading slump, so I probably didn’t give it enough chance. I’ll absolutely give it another go, as I think it’ll be something I’ll enjoy.
      I agree with not forcing a book. Reading is an enjoyable activity, it shouldn’t feel like a chore. 😃

      Like

  3. The only books I haven’t been able to read is The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett (although going to try it again because I think I was just too young) and Pride and Prejudice. Tried that one twice and I just can’t do it, hee hee. I tend to stubbornly just keep going through some even if they aren’t good though – at times I wish I would just give up because then I can get onto something I enjoy.

    Hope the ones you go back to don’t prove to be a disappointment a second time around. Nothing worse than getting excited about a book only to be let down!

    Great post!

    Lindsey | http://lindseyronline.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • I agree, it’s awful feeling disappointed with a book!
      I’ve made it a rule now to try and get to at least 100pages and if it still sucks, I’m giving up. By that point, hopefully there will be a good inciting incident that’ll keep me engaged.
      Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

