Top 5 Wednesday: Things On Your Bookshelves That Aren’t Books

T5W

Hello lovelies – it’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Things On Your Bookshelves That Aren’t Books

I love this weeks topic because I love decorating my bookshelves with different things. I now own 3 large bookcases, and so I’ve re-arranged them a fair bit since my last bookcase tour. If you’d like to check out that tour, you can find that here: Bookcase Tour. I will likely do an updated one soon because they’ve changed somewhat since my last one. Let me know if you’d like to see that.

I think adding decorative pieces to your bookshelves really adds a lot of personality, as well as being aesthetically pleasing to the eye. I’ve been careful not to go overboard because I don’t want them to become too cluttered and take away from the books that are sitting proudly. Despite this post being 5 things you can find, I’m going to bend the rules a teeny bit…

Anyway, here are (actually more than) five things you can find on my bookshelves:

IMG_6555

Well, okay – so there are lots of decorative pieces on this shelf. My ‘Harry Potter Shelf’ holds my beautiful hardback books, and also: Hermione’s wand, a wizarding card, my Ravenclaw pen (in the box at the front), my chocolate frog box, my HP passport, my Ravenclaw scarf, a bookmark, a badge and also Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans. This, as you can imagine, is my favourite part of my bookshelves!

IMG_6547

Propping up my John Green books you can find: my little owl holder that I keep pens and pencils in, my personal library set, and my personalised bookmark. I received the owl holder and library kits as gifts, and I love them. Come to think of it, I’ve had that owl pot for quite a few years now! I bought the bookmark from an etsy shop last year. I absolutely adore it – and I’m too frightened to use it in my books incase I ruin it. My favourite part is the image of Cath from Fangirl sat with her laptop, and on her laptop you can see this blog!

IMG_6549

This adorable little guy is one of my more prized possessions. This was made for me as a graduation present by my adopted Nana Mary (who is actually Laura’s nan). On top of the pile of books it says my name followed by BA. Also, the little bear is wearing my University colours – purple, green and gold. Underneath the bear is a little congratulative message from Mary too. This meant quite a lot to me, and I’ll continue to treasure him.

IMG_6550

I keep my TBR jar on my bookshelves. What better place to put it? I made this last year, with a lot of help from my mum. If you’re interested in how to make one of these, I made a blog post all about it, which you can find here: DIY TBR jar. I’ve found this particularly helpful in those moments when I have no idea what I want to read next. I simply pull a book title out of the jar and go with it.

IMG_6551

Last but by no means least, my owl bookends. Obviously there are two, but the other one is being used to prop up my David Levithan books. This one is just sitting pretty at the moment until I need to use it. I purchased these last summer in a little shop in Windermere. I’d had my eye out for some white owl bookends for quite sometime but I never found any that fit the bill. I’d found wooden ones, but I’d have needed to paint them – which, I didn’t have time to do. When I spotted these I instantly fell in love and purchased them. They’re gorgeous, and made from I believe resin. Gorgeous!

I hope you enjoyed having a peek into the things I have on my bookcases. This was definitely a fun post to write! Check back next Wednesday for my next Top 5 Wednesday post, and that topic is: Anticipated Pre-Orders for the Rest of the Year.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Things On Your Bookshelves That Aren’t Books

Leave a Reply

