Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Chapter Headings

T5W

Hello lovelies – welcome to my first Top 5 Wednesday post!

As you may have seen in my last post, I’ve decided join in with the Top 5 Wednesday’s group, which is a group on Goodreads created by Lainey from the booktube channel, GingerReadsLainey. This is open to any Booktuber or blogger that would like to get involved. Basically, there’s a list of topics every Wednesday and you find five things that fit well for the topic. I might not do every week, and on those weeks I’ll just upload a regular tag post.

You can find the group here: Top 5 Wednesday

This week the topic is: Favourite Chapter Headings

Honestly, when I first saw this topic – I wasn’t sure what it meant by this. Did it mean artwork, or fancy font, or even a catchy chapter title? I decided to go with what I felt like talking about and that is a mixture of them all. I wouldn’t necersarily claim these were favourites but these are five that I found interesting in some way.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

What I liked about this one is that the chapter title is reflected and distorted undernearth. You have to look closely to see the effect on this one, but I liked that it was something different. I appreciated that it seemed like a reflection of the dystopian world, and is almost a visual representation of the corrupt governments that usually reside in the books. You initially see the bold perfect appearance of the text, like the initial appearence of the government, and then when you look closely you see the distorted aftermath in the shadows.

IMG_6541

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I thought this one was cute, and again fitted in quite well with the story. The chapter numbers are presented in little speech bubbles, I liked that this matched the cover art but also in a way, reflected the story. A lot of the story really revolved around communication and the freedom to say what you want to say. It’s certainly a fun way of adding the chapter numbers without being plain.

IMG_6542

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

What I liked about this book, is that the chapter isn’t meerly just the number. Each chapter has a title that reflects something about the chapter. It’s nothing fancy, but I appreciate when an author does this in a book. If you’ve read this book, you might remember that the protagonist Pat is obsessed with movies. The different chapter headings are like scenes in his imagined movie script.

IMG_6543

The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

I thought about what books might have pretty chapter headings, and my first thought was this one. I have a beautiful set of hardbacks with the new covers on, and each chapter features the chapter number and a title. They also have lots of pretty stars to match the ones on the gorgeous covers. I suppose you could relate stars to the magical world, and it’s definitely worth 5 stars but aside from that they’re definitely aesthetically pleasing and they add a certain something. (Also, 10 points to your respective house if you know which book this is)

IMG_6545

Scott Pilgim’s Precious Little Life Vol. 1 by Bryan Lee O’ Malley

I wasn’t sure if this one was cheating, but hell – I’m adding it anyway. Why not? As this is a graphic novel, you know the chapter marks with be pretty epic. This one is absolutely incredible. I love them, the artwork is fantastic and they definitely stands out as an interesting chapter heading.

IMG_6544

There we go! I hope you enjoyed my first Top 5 Wednesday post. Check out the group on Goodreads if you want to know more, and check back next wednesday for the next topic: Things on your bookshelves that aren’t books.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Chapter Headings

Leave a Reply

