Always the Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk

Always the Bridesmaid

Always The Bridesmaid

by Lindsey Kelk

Published: 8th May 2015

Publisher: Harper Collins

Blurb

Everyone loves a bridesmaid

(except Maddie, who’s perpetually asked to be one.)

Everyone loves a wedding

(except Maddie’s best friend, who’s getting divorced.)

And everyone loves the way Maddie’s so happy behind the scenes

(except Maddie herself.)

One best friend is in wedding countdown while the other heads for marriage meltdown. And as Maddie juggles her best chance at promotion in years with bridezilla texts and late-night counselling sessions, she starts to wonder – is it time to stop being the bridesmaid?

Review

I’m really thankful to say I was asked to be a part of the blog tour for this novel, and so I was sent a copy of the book to read and review. I will in no way allow that to influence me into giving a false of biased review. I’m very happy to say this book and its brilliance speak for itself, but I felt a little disclaimer was necessary.

When I sat down to read this novel, I realised this was the first book I’d read from this author and after the first few pages I was mentally kicking myself for not picking up one of her books sooner. From the start, before the first pages were over I was in stitches laughing at this book. I instantly fell in love with the protagonist Maddie, who is the assistant to an event’s organiser and working towards a promotion. She has a lot going on in life, and I’m surprised how she juggles everything. In the meantime, best friend, Lauren is getting married and instantly transforms into a bridezilla, asking Maddie to take on the responsibility of planning her special day. Maddie also has to console Sarah who is going through a divorce. All of this is jotted down in a bridesmaid’s journal given to Maddie, and I loved this touch – particularly the opening of each day, ‘what are you thankful for?’ and the questions about the bride.

I felt I could relate a lot to Maddie, her inner monologue and attitude really stood out to me. She is fantastically written and absolutely hilarious. Maddie finds herself in all kinds of crazy situations, and I loved how she reacted to each one. What I loved most about her is that she felt real – like I’d known her for years and was just catching up with her latest drama.

On a similar note, the dialogue throughout was really witty and realistic. Each character had a distinct voice and personality, which brought them to life. I heard Lauren’s soft American accent and felt Sarah’s blunt edge. Each individual character brought something special to this novel. I particularly loved to hate Shona – who is Maddie’s evil boss. I think a sign of a great author is one that can really wind you up, and make you detest a character without over doing it. Shona was exactly that for me, her evil knew no bounds, yet felt believable.

In terms of plot, I was very surprised with where this book went. I went into it without expectations and I loved the twists and turns. There were some moments I predicted from the beginning, but I wasn’t disappointed with them because the delivery was executed perfectly so that the moments felt new and exciting. So much so, that I didn’t want the book to end. This really is a fantastic page turner. I can’t stress enough how funny this book is. I honestly don’t laugh out loud often when reading a book and this one had my ribs hurting.

I’ve heard a lot of incredible things about this author and her previous works, such as the I Heart… series and this book was my first experience reading something from this author. After completing this book, I feel that the praise is well deserved and I’m definitely looking forward to reading her previous novels. If this one is anything to go by, I’ll be a lifelong fan.

Hilarious. Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

