Bookish Scenarios Tag

bookish scenarios tag

Hi lovelies, today I’m going to share with you the Bookish Scenarios Tag!

I found this tag on youtube, and I found the question over on abookloversplaylist blog. I thought this was a fun tag, because I like that I’m having to think outside the box and consider the circumstances.

You have to get rid of all your books and you can only keep one from each of these genres – contemporary, fantasy, non-fiction and one other genre of your choosing. What books do you keep?

Agh, this is a tough one! I fought with myself a lot over the answers because there are so many I love! In the end, I went with ones I would re-read over again. For example, I love The Book Thief by Markus Zusack but it’s not something I could read over and over again because it’s quite a heavy read. Then again, it is a favourite…. I’m going on the basis of re-reading so here are the ones I chose.

Contemporary – Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fantasy – The Harry Potter Series (I can pick up my boxset!) by J. K. Rowling

Non-Fiction – Bobbi Brown Makeup Manual by Bobbi Brown

Other genre – (dystopian) The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

FangirlHarry Potter NewBobbi Brown Makeup Manuelhunger games

You’re at the bookstore and you hear a teenager telling their mom they don’t like to read, but their mom insists they pick something. You walk over and recommend a book you think is great for people who aren’t big on reading – what book is it?

I’d actually recommend Divergent by Veronica Roth, in fact I gave my brother a spare copy I had of this book and he raced through it. He’s not a massive reader but went on to not only finish this book but the rest of the trilogy. It’s full of action, a romance that’s not in your face, and because it’s dystopian it’s great escapism into another world.

DivergentInsurgentallegiant

You’re not feeling yourself and need a pick me up. Which book do you read to put yourself in a great mood?

For this question, I’d pick up a book that’s full of romance and full of all the fuzzy feels. The book that springs to mind is Love Like The Movies by Victoria Van Tiem. It combines some of my favourite things: feisty characters, chick-flicks, and romance – and leaves me glowing from within.

Love Like The Movies

You go back in time for a day to your teenage years. What book would you most likely have caught yourself reading?

In my younger teen years, I would have been reading Harry Potter. I believe I read the first book when I was 11 or 12 (so not a teen) but the majority of the series I read whilst I was still a teenager. In my later teen years I was obsessed with The Twilight Saga. This probably isn’t a surprise – a lot of people my age were reading those, and I have fond memories of reading them for the first time.

Harry-Potter-And-The-Philosophers-OLDtwilight

Your friend surprises you with a 4 day trip and you have 1 hour to pack. Which book do you bring to read on the way?

I actually can’t read in a moving car because it triggers my motion sickness, but for the sake of answering this question (and pretending I’d read it on a journey) I would probably choose something that would be a quick read. I’d take my kindle/ipad when I’m travelling so I’d have a fair few to choose from. I’d probably like to finish the book on the journey, and in terms of length the novels from either David Levithan or Matthew Quick are easier to finish in a short space of time. Plus, their writing style draws me in and I forget what I’m doing. I’d want to read something new so I’d choose Sorta Like A Rockstar by Matthew Quick, or Every Day by David Levithan.

Sorta Like A RockstarEvery Day

Your house has been robbed! Don’t worry – everyone is safe, but your bookshelf has been raided. What’s the book you really hope is safe?

In the scheme of things, books can be replaced. I haven’t got any first editions that would be irreplaceable (unless I spend a small fortune) but I do have signed books that I wouldn’t have an opportunity to have signed again. I’d really hope those books remained on my shelves. I have signed books from Rainbow Rowell, David Nicholls, James Rice and S.J.Watson.

JamesRice4September 9RainbowRowell4

Your friend borrows a book and returns it in awful condition. Do you a) Just pretend you haven’t noticed b) Ask them to repurchase it c) Secretly do the same to something of theirs?

This actually happened to me recently, I loaned out one of my books and it was returned with dents on the front (like they’d used it to lean on whilst writing something), and some of the pages were bent. I didn’t say anything, it’s not in my nature to. So I can say from first-hand experience that I’d just pretend I hadn’t seen it. After all, it’s not a big deal. I’d be more upset if it was one of my signed books but for that reason I wouldn’t loan those to anyone.

I really enjoyed this tag! Feel free to use take the questions from here and do this tag. Tweet me a link to your post if you decide to do one. I’d love to see it!

One thought on “Bookish Scenarios Tag

  1. This tag looks great! I think I’m gonna post my version next week. 🙂

    By the way, I’ve nominated you for the Infinity Dreams Award! xhttp://beckythewallflower.blogspot.de/2015/03/the-infinity-dreams-award.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

