Book Signing: Meeting James Rice

JamesRiceSigning

Hi lovelies, today I thought I’d share with you all my experience meeting debut author, James Rice.

Back in December I got this interesting book sent to me called Alice and the Fly. I thought it’d sounded amazing and moved it towards the top of my TBR pile. Then one day my sister-in-law, Steph (who has recently just started her own blog: theartshopgirl) was telling me how one of her good friends was having his book published, and she wanted me to go along to the book launch. When she added me to the facebook group for the launch I realised that it was the author that had written the interesting book that I’d received.

I read the book, and absolutely fell in love with it. You can find my review, here. Then, Steph told me about a Q&A and book signing in my local town. We arranged to go together, and so on the evening of 21st January I met her at the event ready with my book. I was really looking forward to it because I’ve only ever been to one book signing before, which was Rainbow Rowell.

The event was being hosted in a gallery, so whilst we were waiting to go into the room for the event we looked around at all of the beautiful art. I’d never been there before but I must go again! It’d make for a lovely blog post. We went into the event room and sat down ready to hear James speak about his novel.

JamesRice2

He was introduced by the Creative Writing programme leader at Edge Hill University, which is actually the university I went to. The programme leader that led CW had left, so I didn’t know this gentleman. He told us all that James began his writing career at Liverpool John Moore’s university, where is did a Creative Writing bachelors degree and then went on to do his Masters degree. He also works in a Waterstones, which is lovely as they were supporting his novel at the event.

James read the first chapter of his novel. I loved this as it’s such a descriptive, strongly written opening to a novel, and to hear this read aloud was incredible. Then the floor was opened up for questions, where James was asked all sorts of things about his writing journey and his novel. I learnt quite a lot from this. In particular that the publishers might have focused on the ‘autobiographical’ aspects of the novel, when in reality it’s completely fiction with the odd moment of reality (specifically, the Tango incident, and the fact that the author also went to highschool).

JamesRice4

After the Q&A session was over, James began signing the novels. When I got to the head of the queue, I gave him my book and we discussed that I’d already read his novel. This meant that he had to change what he’d normally write in the book. In the note he thanked me for buying his book, because he knew I’d been sent a proof copy, but I’d gone out and bought the final copy. I thought it was lovely that he signed it to me, but also added my blog name. I’d spoken to him briefly on twitter, and Steph had told him about my blog too. He was really friendly, and a pleasure to meet!

JamesRice3

It was a great experience, and a fun event to join in with. If you haven’t yet, make sure you check out Alice and the Fly and give it the love it deserves.  

If you’d like to grab yourself a copy of Alice and the Fly: Amazon link

3 thoughts on “Book Signing: Meeting James Rice

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2015 | Into The BookCase

Leave a Reply

