My Top 10 Movie Releases of 2014

top10moviereleasesof2014

Hi lovelies, today I’m going to share with you my top 10 movie releases of 2014.

Last year there were so many fantastic films being released, and I personally like to dub 2014 the ‘year of book to film adaptations’. 8 out of the 10 films I’m going to share with you have been adapted one way or another from source material, either a novel or graphic comics etc. I personally love watching adaptations, because I love to see my favourite characters come to life. Also, sometimes I’m turned onto a book because I’ve seen the adaptation before reading it. Then I want to read more from the author, and it’s a win win.

Here are my Top 10 releases, in no particular order (because that’d be too hard to choose!):

Divergent_film_poster

Divergent

This was one of my most anticipated films this year, and I went to see it twice in the cinema. Once with my friend Jared, and then the lovely Abbey (who you all know from MissBookwormReviews). I loved this film because it was the first sighting of the dystopian world, and all the characters. It was done perfectly, and I thought explained the society well for those that hadn’t read the books. I posted a more in depth review of this film, you can read that here!

mockingjay part 1

Hunger Games: Mockingjay pt 1

I couldn’t wait to see this film either, this is the third film in the series (and obviously part 1 of the finale). I didn’t love this film as much as the first two, purely because I missed seeing the games and the purpose of the film really was to build up for the epic final film. This doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, because I definitely loved it, and it thoroughly deserves a place in my top 10.

The Fault In Our Stars

The Fault In Our Stars

Another fantastic adaptation, this time from the John Green’s novel of the same name. I thought the producers of this film did a fantastic job of presenting the difficult plot and subject matter. It is quite sensitive and upsetting, but they managed to keep the light hearted spirit of the book. You can read my full review here.

gone girl

Gone Girl

Another adaptation of a novel, except  this time I hadn’t read the book prior to seeing the film. I loved the film so much I bought the book as soon as I got home, and went on to love that also. I love how this film is structured, and the development of the characters. I will be writing a more indepth review for this film, because I feel like I have a lot more to say about it.

the imitation game

The Imitation Game

This is one of the only films in this list that wasn’t adapted from a novel. However, this film is based on real events and a real person. This film is about the work that Alan Turing did during the second world war, and the impact of creating an enigma cracking machine. I left the cinema completely flabbergasted, and in awe. A truly magnificent film.

the maze runner

The Maze Runner

I had been looking forward to this for quite a while because I’d heard very good things about novel from which is was adapted. I’m yet to read the novel, but I know from watching this film that I will love it. The dystopian world is explained really well, and the characters are likeable. I’m interested to see where this will go in the future, and looking forward to reading the books.

hobbit3

The Hobbit: Battle of the Five Armies

I think this is one of the least surprising to see on this list, I imagine it’s up there with a lot of people’s favourites in 2014. This is truly a wonderful piece of cinema, and I loved every minute of it. It’s incredibly sad to see the end of this franchise, and this final lived up to every expectation I had for it. If you’d like to see a full review for this, you can find that here.

maleficent

Maleficent

This film is a remake based on Disney’s Sleeping Beauty and this time it’s from a different perspective. We get to see another side of the story, and from the side of the villain, Maleficent. I love that this film contradicts the Disney depiction and also shows the strength of the female characters, as oppose to them relying on a handsome prince to restore equilibrium.

xmen days of future past

X-Men: Days of Future Past

I adored this film, and I’m a big fan of the franchise. I haven’t read any of the graphic novels in which this series of films was based, but I fell in love with the characters and the world they live in. I thought this film in particular was my favourite because it affects the films I’ve already seen because of the way the plot pans out which is really interesting. Plus, Evan Peters as Quicksilver… no more explanation needed!

The-Book-Thief_poster

The Book Thief

I had such high hopes for this film because this film is adapted from one of my favourite novels (and it was my overall favourites of 2014). I have to say the film lived up to my expectations, I loved the performance of Sophie Nélisse, who played Liesel Meminger and Geoffrey Rush as her Papa. This is now one of my favourite films. For a full review, click here

I’d love to hear what movie releases you enjoyed watching in 2014. Have you seen any of the films on this list? If you have, which did you enjoy?

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Movie Releases of 2014

  1. I’ve read most of the novels that the movies you named are based on but I have yet to see the movies. I loved and disliked divergent but if you hadn’t read the novels it was a good movie.

    Like

  2. Pingback: |FILM| Gone Girl dir. David Fincher | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

