November & December Book Haul 2014

monthly book haul

Hi lovelies, today I’m going to share with you the books I accumulated in both November and December in 2014.

I know this is a little late, (particularly the November ones) but with Festive-Blog-Athon going on I thought I could leave this until the new year. I must say, I did gather quite a lot of books in the last two months of the year, and I didn’t purchase most of them myself. I received the majority of the books as gifts, not only for Christmas but for my birthday also. I celebrated my 25th birthday in mid-November. I’m incredibly grateful for all of the books I received in the last couple of months, and it makes me incredibly happy that the loved ones in my life know me so well, and they’re supportive of my hobby.

IMG_4113

This is likely to be my last book haul for a long time because I have things I need to save up for in 2015, and books will need to be further down the list of priorites with my extra pennies. There are other reasons for this decision and I am going to explain them further in a seperate post

Well, enough of me yabbering on and onto the books!

IMG_4117

The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer

This was a Christmas gift from Stewart this year. He read my blog post about Book cover I wish I had and he saw that I loved these editions of the books. I do already have a set of these books, I purchased them at University with the remains of a book grant I received as a student. The final book in the series I had in hardback so didn’t match the others. This made a perfect gift for me because I wouldn’t have bought them myself, because it wasn’t something I needed as such. My other set of books are already in a bag ready for the charity shop so hopefully someone else can love them as much as I did.

IMG_4120

Hogwarts Library:

Quidditch Through The Ages by J.K Rowling

Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them by J. K. Rowling

The Tales Of Beedle The Bard by J. K. Rowling

I received this beautiful set of books for Christmas from my mum and dad. They knew that this had been on my wishlist for some time and it was the only thing missing from my collection of Harry Potter books. I’m really excited to have this, as I’ve never had the chance to read them before. And, they’re a stunning set to have for any fan of the series.

IMG_4122

Unwind, Unwholly, Unsouled & Undivided by Neal Shusterman

I got this series for my birthday with some pennies I received from family. I picked this series because it’d been sat on my wishlist for some time. I first heard of this series after watching a review video from Elle Fowler on the first book. I put them on my wishlist after that and they hadn’t moved. If they haven’t been trimmed off the list then I know it’s a good sign. This is a dystopian series that has a very interesting concept.

IMG_4124

Lola and the Boy Next Door & Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

I received these for my birthday from my beautiful friend, Laura. I have the first book in this trilogy, Anna and the French Kiss, and I wanted to get the remaining books so that I could marathon them. I have heard nothing but good things about this trilogy, and I’m rather looking forward to seeing if the hype is deserved.

IMG_4125

Specials, Pretties & Extras by Scott Westerfeld.

I received these books from Stewart’s parents for my birthday, as they gave me some pennies to choose some. I decided to complete the series by Scott Westerfeld so I, again, can marathon them. This was another series that I heard of from Booktube. I can’t remember if it was another Elle Fowler review or if it was someone else. Either way, I’ve owned the first book for a while so it definitely needed to be reunited with the others in the series. This series is dystopian, and revolves are the idea of appearances deciding the ranking (if you will) in the society.

IMG_4126

Pure, Fuse & Burn by Julianna Baggott

I received this trilogy from my parents for Christmas. Again, they knew that these had been on my wishlist for a while. I was very excited to open them on Christmas day. This is another dystopian series (can you tell I enjoy this genre?) that has been linked with The Hunger Games which is an all time favourite of mine. I’m very much looking forward to cracking these open and diving into the world.

IMG_4127

Sharp Objects & Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

I bought these books for myself in Waterstones whilst I was in the Trafford Centre. I went there for a bit of retail therapy on my birthday, and I had some points saved up on my card. I managed to get these books for about £4 each. What a bargain! Anyway, when I read the author’s other novel, Gone Girl, I couldn’t put it down. I loved her writing style and I instantly wanted to read more from this author. These are also stand-alone novels, and I’m interested to see how these stories will chill me.

IMG_4129

I purchased these with birthday money from loved ones.

Tease by Amanda Maciel

I first heard about this book in a Booktuber’s book haul, and I was instantly intrigued. I really enjoy reading books that focus on bullying and the consequences that are caused by this. This book deals with these issues, and I decided I’d like to see how the author handles it.

Love Is A Higher Law by David Levithan

I wanted to add to my collection of David Levithan books, and I knew I was still missing this one. I’d heard about this one because I saw a review on Megan Olivier’s booktube channel. I knew I’d love this because of its subject matter and structure. It’s set during, and after the 9/11 attacks, and is also from 3 different character perspectives. I have already read this, and my review will be up soon.

The Eye of Minds by James Dashner

This was yet another book that I found from an older Elle Fowler review video. We have very similar taste in books, so if she’s mentioning a book it’s usually going on my wishlist. This, as you’re probably not surprised, is a dystopian novel. Another great concept, about living life in a virtual world. Very Matrix-esque. Dashner is also the author of popular The Maze Runner series.

Kimberly’s Capital Punishment by Richard Milward

I came across this because it was mentioned in a ‘favourite books’ video. I’m always extra curious about books when somebody calls them a favourite. This book has a concept that I find interesting. I seem to be fascinated by relationships, and this one deals with a tragedy and a ripple effect caused by someones actions.

Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford

My sister-in-law, Jackie, was the person that introduced me to this book. This book isn’t what it says on the tin, thank goodness, that would be morbid. This is a novel that focuses on the impacts of mental illness, and is described as ‘examining the fuzzy line between “normal” and the rest of us’.

IMG_4130

From Notting Hill With Love… Actually & From Notting Hill To New York … Actually by Ali McNarma

I received these as a birthday gift from the lovely, Abbey. She tells me that these are some of her favourite novels and she thought I’d love them too. I also have heard great things about them and I’m looking forward to reading them for myself.

IMG_4131

Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

I had seen the adaptation of this novel recently and was interested in reading the source material. Sparks is a popular author, and I’ve read a couple of books from him. I’m thinking that because I enjoyed the film, I’ll love the book just as much.

Very British Problems by Rob Temple

I spotted this in the Tesco paperback charts and it caught my eye. I turned it over to see what it was all about. It’s based on a popular twitter account, @soverybritish, and highlights all of the funny ‘typical’ british awkward moments. I’ve flicked through it a little already, and I love it.

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

I saw this in Tesco and my heart melted when I saw the cover. I had just seen the final film in the franchise and I was feeling a little lost. I saw this was cheap and wanted to pick up a copy to read. I feel like I haven’t read this fully. I believe I started it but never finished it.

IMG_4139

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

I pre-ordered this back in November, and looked forward to reading it. I have read it already and my review will be up in the coming weeks. There is a lot of controversy surrounding this book, but regardless of that I still wanted to read it.

Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales by The Brothers Grimm

I received this beautiful edition from Stewart for Christmas and I absolutely adore it. This was such a thoughtful gift from him, and I’m very impressed with it. I’m really excited to sink my teeth into the stories.

The Bookshop Book by Jen Campbell

I received a Waterstones giftcard for my birthday from a girl in work, and I went and picked up this one. I knew this book was the Books Are My Bag book of the year, and I wanted to participate in what it stands for. This book is perfect for all of the bibliophile’s out there. This is described as a ‘love letter to bookshops’.

I received these books from Bookbridgr, Hodder & Stoughton and Headline Publishers. A huge thank you to them, I’m looking forward to these.

IMG_4133

The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth

Keep Quiet by Lisa Scottoline

A Season To Remember by Sheila O’ Flannigan

Now That I’ve Found You by Ciara Geraghty

IMG_4134

Waiting For Doggo by Mark B. Mills

The Ice Twins by S. K. Tremayne

Alice and the Fly by James Rice

I am incredibly thankful for the books I received as gifts, and was able to to get for my birthday and Christmas. This may be the last book haul you see, as I mentioned at the beginning.

Did you get any nice books recently? I love seeing what other people like to read. Let me know what you’re loving at the moment.

6 thoughts on “November & December Book Haul 2014

  1. Good Lord where would you even start, I am a bookish hoarder too so my TBR shelf is also….excessive. I would start with The Hobbit if I hadn’t read it already, then I guess the Gillian Flynn’s (Gone Girl is still sitting unread on my shelf, oh the shame).

    Like

  2. Suicide Notes and Grimms Complete Fairytales omggg. Thanks for adding yet more books to my huge TBR list haha.
    I just mentioned you in a blog post if you wanted to check it out? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

