Taylor Swift Book Tag

TaylorSwiftTag

Hi lovelies, today I will be doing the Taylor swift book tag!

I saw this tag on Youtube on Kaytastic’s booktube channel, you can watch her video – here. I’m a big fan of Taylor Swift, and in honour of the recent release of her new album, 1989, I thought this would be a great way to celebrate.

Here are the questions!

1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together – pick a book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but then wanted to break up with.

This may be an obvious one, but I’d have to pick Twilight. At the time, we were madly in love and couldn’t stay away from each other. Until we had some time apart, and then realised we had moved on. Now we’re just a distant memory that I think of from time to time.

twilight

2. Red – pick a book with a RED cover.

For this one I decided to pick An Abundance Of Katherines by John Green. The edition I have is bright red so perfect for this question. Other books that also have red covers: Us by David Nicholls, and If I Could Turn Back Time by Nicola Doherty.

An Abundance Of Katherines

3. The Best Day – pick a book that makes you feel nostalgic.

A book that makes me feel nostalgic is The Adventures Of Alice In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. I have a beautiful old edition, and I have memories of my Mum reading it to me when I was younger.

Alice In Wonderland

4. Love Story – pick a book with forbidden love.

The book that I chose for this question is Matched by Ally Condie. In this dystopian world, the goverment matches the teenagers to their computer generated ‘perfect’ match. Except the protagonist is matched with two people… and one of those boys is from the wrong side of the tracks.

Matched

5. I Knew You Were Trouble – pick a book with a bad character you couldn’t help but love.

The answer for this one is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I recently finished this book and absolutely loved it, and the main characters Nick Dunne & Amy Elliot Dunne are the perfect candidates for this. They are characters that I would describe as complicated, and I honestly can’t help but love them.

Gone Girl

6. Innocent  – pick a book that someone ruined the ending for.

Sadly, the ending of Allegiant by Veronica Roth was spoiled for me. I won’t say why, because that’ll potentially spoil it for those that haven’t read it. There’s nothing worse than spoilers, because they really do affect the readers experiences. I probably would have found fault with Allegiant anyway but knowing the big revelation put me off reading it.

allegiant

7. Everything Has Changed – pick a character from a book who goes through extensive character development.

The book that springs to mind for this one is Pat in The Silver Lining’s Playbook by Matthew Quick. This character is struggling to come to terms with the repercussions of an incident that led him to spend time in a rehabilitation centre. I think the character growth is the most drastic I’ve seen in a book, that I can recall.

The Silver Linings Playbook

8. You Belong With Me – pick your most anticipated book release.

This is a tough one because there are so many fantastic books coming out in the next few months. I’m quite interested to see what the debut novel from youtuber, Zoe Sugg or Zoella has in store. Her novel, Girl Online, is released later on in November.

Girl Online

9. Forever and Always – pick your favorite book couple.

My favourite book couple is Emma and Dexter from One Day by David Nicholls. The couple feel authentic and sincere. I love that their relationship isn’t perfect, and the banter between the two. This is why this book is one of my all time favourite reads.

One Day

10. Come Back, Be Here – pick the book you would least like to lend out, for fear of missing it too much.

A book that I wouldn’t lend out is any of my signed books, the four from Rainbow Rowell and my copy of Us by David Nicholls. If I had to pick one of the five books I’d choose the special edition copy of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, because it’s a collectable.

RainbowRowell3

BONUS QUESTIONS:

11. Teardrops On My Guitar – pick a book that made you cry a lot.

I don’t often cry at a book, and when I do I know it’s fantastically written to evoke that sort of emotion from me. The book that did that was The Dead Wife’s Handbook by Hannah Beckerman. A stunning debut novel that had me in floods of tears, I’d really recommend you reading this if you haven’t already.

TheDeadWifesHandbook

12. Shake It Off – pick a book that you love so much, you just shake off the haters.

Ive spoken about this in depth in the review of the book, but my guilty pleasure read despite the haters is Fifty Shades Of Grey by E. L. James. Even though I admit it isn’t the best quality of writing I’ve ever experienced and it is a little repetitive at times, I still have love for this book.

Fifty Shades Of Grey

I’d love to hear your responses to this tag. Let me know if you decide to complete it too.

4 thoughts on “Taylor Swift Book Tag

Leave a Reply

