Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl

Gone Girl

by Gillian Flynn

Published: 3rd January 2013

Publisher: Phoenix

Blurb

Who are you?
What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone.

So what did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?

Review

I heard about this book when I was participating in a book bloggers chat on Twitter, and that week’s topic was ‘book to film adaptations’, and the people in the chat were discussing the new trailer for this book. I checked out the movie trailer and immediately went out to buy the book. I must admit it took me a while to get round to reading it, and I had every intention of reading it before I saw the film, but that didn’t happen in the end. This is an incredibly hyped book, and I understand why there is such a buzz surrounding this book now that I’ve finished it. I think it definitely deserves the hype.

I should begin this review by stating that this review will be spoiler free, because I think it’s important that if you haven’t read the book that you get to experience the twists and revelations first hand.

To start with, I’d like to talk about the structure of this book. It’s split up into 3 different parts, and throughout the book there is dual narrative. I absolutely adore books that have dual narrative, I love reading two different perspectives because it adds a lot of depth. It’s especially interesting in this novel, because it creates an interesting dynamic for the reader, as it creates the potential for an unreliable narrator. When you read the characters perspectives on events, they could be perceived differently because everybody remembers things differently and has different opinions.

The characters are incredible in this, for the majority of the story I didn’t know who to side with and I had a huge love hate relationship with them. I love that they’re flawed characters, as it adds a stronger sense of realism to a plot that at times is far-fetched. I like the different voices for each character, and at times the humour that they brought to the situation they are in.

In terms of the plot, without spoilers, I felt that the plot was intense and well thought out. It has plenty of twists and turns and definitely kept me engaged throughout. The ending to me was frustrating, but I wasn’t disappointed as such, I was more surprised that the author took the story in that direction. I particularly liked that the plot bounces from past to present, and that each event from the past adds to the suspense and character development.

I would absolutely recommend this book to everyone, and I think I will lend my copy to my Mum to read because she’ll love it too. I’d say that this book is up there with my favourites of the year. As you know this book has recently been released in the cinemas, and I have already seen it (twice) so keep an eye out for an upcoming review of that. If you’ve read this book I’d love to speak to you in more detail about it because there is a lot to say for this one!

I cannot recommend this enough. I honestly think the majority will love this novel. A must read!

3 thoughts on “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Interesting review! I like your comment on the dual narratives – a good point that I completely forgot to comment on in my review!

    I thought you would find the ending a bit disappointing. But I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2014 | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

  3. Pingback: |FILM| Gone Girl dir. David Fincher | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

