Christmas Wedding At The Gingerbread Café by Rebecca Raisin

Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Cafe

Christmas Wedding At The Gingerbread Café

by Rebecca Raisin

Published: 15th October 2014

Publisher: Carina

Blurb

You are invited to the wedding of the year!

Snow is falling thick and fast outside the Gingerbread Café and inside, its owner Lily is planning the wedding of the year. Her wedding! She never dreamt it would happen, but this Christmas, she’ll be marrying the man of her dreams – in a Christmas-card-perfect ceremony!

The gingerbread is baking, the dress is fitted and the mistletoe’s in place – for once, everything’s going to plan. That is until her mother-in-law arrives… Suddenly, Lily’s famous cool is being tested like never before and her dream wedding is crumbling before her eyes.

In the blink of a fairylight, the Gingerbread Café has been thrown into chaos! Lily thought she had this wedding wrapped up, but with so much to do before she says ‘I do’, can Lily get to the church on time – and make this Christmas sparkle after all?

Review

I’d like to thank Rebecca for kindly sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was really excited to get my hands on this and I immediately downloaded it and started reading. I was instantly transported back into Ashford and I was sat in the café drinking a hot cup of hot chocolate with Lil, CeeCee and all the other lovely characters in the town.

I must say, out of all of the novellas this one is my absolute favourite. Whilst I was reading this I experienced a smorgasbord of emotions, ranging for laughing like a loon to bouts of weeping, plus everything in-between. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything that has taken me on such an emotional rollercoaster as this book.

Firstly, as ever the characters in this book are to die for. Each individual in this book has a purpose and impacts the plot in some way. I love that no character is filler and everybody is integral to the story. I loved reading about Missy’s pregnancy, and the friendship between the ladies. I felt a bigger sense of community in this story, I love how the small town rallies around one another in times of need. I think anyone that reads this will wish they lived here.

I love the elements of drama in this book. In the previous book I thought the drama helped balance out the sweetness so that it’s not overwhelming. In this book, I really loved to hate Olivia, and when you read it you’ll understand why. She is a great character, and I love that she is complex and has a back story.

As I mentioned previously, this book tugged on my heart strings, and I’d highly recommend grabbing some chocolate and a packet of tissues when you read it. I was a blubbering mess by the end of the book. There were happy and sad tears, as we find out what happens to the beloved characters in the town.

I’m so sad that this is the last book in The Gingerbread Café series as I really enjoyed them. I look forward to reading more from this author in the future, and I’ll be interested to see if I’ll see the character again.

I’d absolutely recommend picking up this series in the lead up to Christmas, they’re fun, quick, festive reads that’ll leave you glowing from within (or in my case a puffy mess).

One thought on “Christmas Wedding At The Gingerbread Café by Rebecca Raisin

Leave a Reply

