Chocolate Dreams At The Gingerbread Café by Rebecca Raisin

chocolate dreams at the gingerbread cafe

Chocolate Dreams At The Gingerbread Café

by Rebecca Raisin

Published: 20th March 2014

Publisher: Carina

Blurb

Chocolate…the most irresistible temptation?

The Gingerbread Café is all a buzz! This Easter, Lily and the rest of the town of Ashford, Connecticut are planning a truly decadent Chocolate Festival. Cooking up a storm, CeeCee and Lily are not just baking a batch of their sinfully delicious chocolate-dipped gingerbread men, but an excess of chocolate truffles, squidgy, cinnamony hot cross buns and melt in your mouth chocolate eggs. The Gingerbread Café staff have definitely enjoyed the tasting process!

Add in Damon’s cute-as-a-button seven year old daughter, Charlie, up for a visit and Lily’s perfect Easter may just be around the corner. Until her ex-husband Joel turns up demanding twenty thousand dollars… Suddenly the future of the Gingerbread Café is not so clear…and Lily finds herself eating far more of The Gingerbread Café’s treats than her skinny jeans allow…

Can Lily concoct a brilliant plan to save her beloved café, convince Damon she has no feelings for Joel and still throw a Chocolate Festival the town will be talking about for years? There’s only one way to find out…

Welcome back to the warmth, cupcakes and hot chocolate of The Gingerbread Café – your home away from home

Review

I’d like to thank Rebecca for kindly sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I immediately dived into this story after finishing the first novella in this series, Christmas At The Gingerbread Café. If you haven’t had a chance to read that one but would like to learn more, then you can read my review for that book here.

I’m thrilled I was able to indulge in these characters straight away as I’d become very attached to them in the first book. In this one, I felt my love grow fonder for them, and I truly appreciated the supporting characters. I obviously loved the leading lady, Lil, and the devilishly handsome, Damon, but I got a greater sense of the other characters in this story. I adored CeeCee, who is a mother figure in Lil’s life, and also an employee at the café. She has the sweetest southern accent, and the best one-liners. I would love to have someone like that in my life.

Another character I loved was Joel, and the reason I loved this character is because I hated him. I always think the sign of a good author is being able to write characters that you want to smack with a frying pan, or in this case, a rolling pin. This character was exactly that for me, and I loved the drama and bitterness he brought into the story. He really balanced out the sugary sweetness of this book. I again was floored with how engaged in the story I was. This is a novella, and so the story is fast paced but not rushed. I still felt the suspense and drama, and didn’t feel like the plot was thrown at me.

The author has an incredible way of pulling you into the world she’s created. The characters live in a beautiful town called Ashford, the sort of place where you can leave your front door unlocked and you know everyone in town. This picturesque town is beautifully described and leaves you feeling like you’re one of the inhabitants. I felt like I was sat in the café with a slice of CeeCee’s famous pies, gossiping with all of the locals.

Absolutely loved this follow-on novella, and I’m really interested to see where these characters end up in the last instalment, Christmas Wedding At The Gingerbread Café.

I think if you’re looking for a quick romance, with a dash of drama, and covered in chocolate, then this book is for you and I think you should give it a go!

Leave a Reply

