Book Cake Tag

Book Cake Tag

Hi there, I saw this tag when I was perusing on Goodreads, and I loved it.

The idea of this tag is to make your ultimate ‘book cake’, and each question is an element of your cake. I bet I have the tastiest looking book cake! If you’d like to do this tag, please do so!

1) Flour – A book that was a little bit slow to start off but that really picked up as it went along.

I’ve read a couple of books that work well for this one, the main one that springs to mind is one of my recent reads, The Idea Of Him by Holly Peterson. At first I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to get into the book, but I persevered and in the end really enjoyed it. An honorable mention is The DUFF by Kody Keplinger, again one that I considered putting down but it picked up and I ended up liking it.

The Idea Of Him
2) Margarine – A book that had a really rich and great plot.

Again, this one is a tricky one because I’ve read some great books lately. I think The Ocean At The End Of The Lane by Neil Gaiman is the perfect fit for this question. It’s truly a fantastic read, very rich and engaging. I can’t recommend this book enough.

The Ocean At The End Of The Lane

3) Eggs – A book that you thought was going to be bad but actually turned out quite enjoyable.

I was honestly a little skeptical about reading Matched by Ally Condie as I’d heard a lot of mixed reviews about it. I quite enjoyed it, and I’m glad I went ahead and read it despite the reviews. Just shows that you should read people’s reviews with a pinch of salt, afterall, an opinion is personal and it could just be a matter of taste.

Matched

4) Sugar – A sugary/sweet book.

I absolutely adored Love Like The Movies by Victoria Van Tiem, and that is my ultimate sugary/sweet book. It definitely gave me the warm and fuzzies, and jaw ache from smiling so much. Such a lovely read, I adored reading all of the movie re-enactments. Fantastic!

Love Like The Movies

5) Icing – A book that covered every single element that you enjoy about a book (funny moments, action moments, sad moments, etc.).

I loved thinking of the answer for this one because there are so many books that would be perfect for this! I think I’m going to go with Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I adored this book, and it had everything I wanted in it. It had great characters, a great concept, fantastic dialogue and pace. Loved everything about this book, and it’s definitely one of those that I’d re-read in the future.

Fangirl

6) Sprinkles – A book series that you can kind of turn to for a little pick me up when you’re feeling down.

The most obvious answer for this is the Harry Potter series, but to change it up I’ll actually say the Divergent series. Oh, how I love thee! I really enjoyed this series, appart from a couple of things in the last book, but I was sucked into this world straight away and that’s what I’d look for if I’m feeling down. If I’m not feeling myself then I’ll immediately look for an escape, and sometimes dytopian reads are the best for that because it can take my mind off whatever is bugging me.

Divergent

7) The cherry on top – Your favorite book this year so far.

This was the toughest answer to find, I have loved so many books this year! It’s a toss up between The Book Thief by Markus Zusack and One Day by David Nicholls. I loved both of these books for very different reasons. I loved The Book Thief because it was outside of my comfort zone yet it managed to captivate me, and held me throughout. One Day was my perfect read in every way, I laughed, I cried, and I fell in love. The characters, the dialogue, the concept, the pace, the content, just well… everything. Can’t get enough.

One Daythe book thief

I’m really interested to see what your answers to this tag are, and what makes the perfect ‘book cake’ for you.

2 thoughts on “Book Cake Tag

  1. I love the idea of this tag – such a cool idea!
    The Book Thief is one of my favourite books – I read it in about 3 days because I’d borrowed it off my housemate right at the end of uni so had to finish it before moving back home!
    I’ve heard really good things about the Divergent series but never got round to reading them. Definitely one I need to add to my ‘to-read’ list!

    Like

    • Wow! 3 days? It took me about a week because it’s such an emotionally heavy book! Really fantastic though! I’d absolutely recommend the Divergent series, the first 2 books are great, the third I was slightly disappointed in but overall it’s a great trilogy. Let me know if you read them, I’d love to hear your thoughts!! Xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

