The Idea Of Him by Holly Peterson + GIVEAWAY

The Idea Of Him

The Idea Of Him

by Holly Peterson

Published: 25/09/2014

Publisher: Harper Collins

Blurb

Allie Crawford has the life she always dreamed of – a career at a high-profile Manhatten PR firm; two kids she adores; and a husband, Wade, who is everything she thought a man was supposed to be.

But when Allie finds Wade locked in their laundry room with a stunning blonde in snakeskin heels, a scandal ensues that flips her life on its head. Sucked into a world of conspiracy, intrigue, and intense passion, Allie begins to wonder if maybe she’s fallen in love not with Wade himself – but with the idea of him…

Review

I was kindly sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I’d like to say a big thank you to Jaime from Harper Collins for sending it to me. When I first read the blurb for this book, the thing that instantly struck me was that this isn’t your typical chick-lit. What I mean is, the majority of the chick-lit I’ve ever picked up has been about the journey. It’s always the meet-cute, falling in love with ‘the one’, and living happily-ever-after. The great thing about The Idea Of Him is that it subverts the ‘happily-ever-after’ paradigm, and instead focuses on an after that wasn’t as sparkly as it was supposed to be.

In terms of the plot of this book, obviously I was very interested in the concept, and I was extremely interested to see how this narrative would pan out. When I sat down with this book at first I thought the plot was far too slow, and I was worried I wouldn’t get into it. In hindsight, I realised that it is a slow burner, but as you read on it burns brightly. There were a couple of plot points I felt I could have done without, but purely because I really wanted to find out what happens with the characters, and how the story ended. I also thought the book was at times too descriptive, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing at all. I think it’s just personal preference because I wanted to race through to find out what happened.

The characters of this book were good. I identified with the main character, Allie, straight away. She’s a hard-working, mother-of-two, that dreams of being a writer and having it all. She admits to walking around with her head in the clouds and running away from problems, until of course, everything comes down around her and there’s nowhere to run. I love to hate her smarmy husband Wade Crawford, I could happily smack that man several times, and I love that the author has brought that emotion out of me. I loved all the secondary characters, particularly Allie’s children, and her boss. I thought each character brought something different to the story.

It’s been described as a coming-of-age for adults, and I’d have to agree. The main character definitely has some big life changes, and must find her feet. Overall, I quite enjoyed this book, and the refreshing approach to the genre.

If you’d like to read a glamourous, refreshing read then this one is for you.

I am also hosting my first ever giveaway! You can win a copy of The Idea Of Him using the rafflecopter below. There are 3 copies to be won! Good luck!!

Click HERE for Giveaway!

One thought on “The Idea Of Him by Holly Peterson + GIVEAWAY

Leave a Reply

