Sims 4: First Impressions

Sims 4 Header

Hello lovelies, I’m back with the second half of my Sims 4 review. In the first half I discussed my pre-release expectations, and discussed the things that have been removed and altered from the previous generation of Sims. If you’d like to read that post, please click here.

There are a lot of things I could say about this game, so I think the best place to start would be Create-A-Sim. The creators of the game really pushed the changes of this game in the game trailers, and I must admit it is a fantastic update for the game. Firstly, the sliders are no longer. If I want to change the height of cheekbones, or the width of shoulders, I can simply pull on the feature and adjust it at my will. This means that it is easier to make the Sims look exactly how you want them. The only negative thing I have found so far in that respect is the lack of different hairstyles, and of course, now there is no Create-A-Style, there is only a few set hair colours and no chance of having highlights or different coloured hair. There is a decent amount of outfit choices, and you can change the colours (again through a set selection) but you can’t change it to say leopard print, anymore.

The build mode has definitely improved. It is much easier to build any house that I desire. The only thing is, it does take a little while to get used to the interface, but it is very much user friendly once you’ve used it a few times. I love being able to move complete rooms (plus its contents), if I don’t like where it is, to another part of the house. The whole experience has progressed greatly and I think this is my favourite upgrade from the base game. I am one of the gamers that spend more time building the world the Sims live in, than playing the lives, so having the advancements in this area has made the game worthwhile for me. The buy mode is decent too, except of course that without Create-A-Style it’s not as much fun. I’m happy with the range that is available, and I’ll be interested to see what options they bring out in expansion packs.

The world I think is the biggest let down, I hate that it is back to being a closed world, especially because the available lots are limited. There isn’t a lot of space to expand and build different families, but then again because the world isn’t open, I suppose that doesn’t matter. I miss sending my Sims to different locations, even the ones that were rabbit holes (one that you cannot see your Sim in). It made the gameplay feel more realistic, and I miss this a lot already. I hate being stuck in the same lot, and the having to wait through the loading screen if my Sims want to travel. This would probably be a deal breaker for those that enjoyed exploring the terrain in the previous generation.

In terms of the gameplay, the creators have tried to hype up the addition of emotions. The Sims have emotions that can affect the way they interact with each other, and how their days go. For example, I had a Sim that was embarrassed and uncomfortable after speaking to another Sim, and then they wanted to hide in their room until they felt better. It’s an interesting addition, but honestly, I think I’d get bored of that feature, because the emotions change so erratically and drastically. I’m not sure if it’s irritating or fun, so only time will tell.

Overall, I’m somewhat disappointed with the latest generation of The Sims, and it’s really sad for me to say this as I’ve been a fan of the game since the beginning. For me, there are too many things that have been lost since the last generation and it has taken a step back in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

