Fifty Shades Of Grey Trilogy by E. L. James

Fifty Shades Of Grey

Fifty Shades Of Grey Trilogy
by E.L James
Published: 25th May 2011
Publisher: Arrow

Blurb

When literature student Anastasia Steele interviews successful entrepreneur Christian Grey, she finds him very attractive and deeply intimidating. Convinced that their meeting went badly, she tries to put him out of her mind – until he turns up at the store where she works part-time, and invites her out.

Unwordly and innocent, Ana is shocked to find she wants this man. And, when he warns her to keep her distance, it only makes her want him more.

But Grey is tormented by inner demons, and consumed by the need to control. As they embark on a passionate love affair, Ana discovers more about her own desires, as well as the dark secrets Grey keeps hidden away from public view…

Review
This review will cover all of the books in the trilogy, avoiding any spoilers that may ruin the series for you. I’ll be speaking about the trilogy in a general sense, and cover my thoughts on the different aspects.
Well, it has to be said I hadn’t read any sort of erotic fiction before reading this trilogy. I was also one of those people that jumped on the band wagon back in 2012 when it was extremely popular, but I have read it again since then.
As I said, I read this in 2012 and at the time I really enjoyed this series. I read it on holiday, along with my best friend Laura, who also had never read any kind of erotic fiction before. We picked up the book because we wanted to see what the hype was about.
When we first read the books, we definitely enjoyed them. Instantly we both had a love/ hate relationship with Anastasia Steele. We understood going into this book that it involved BDSM, and that she would be the one that is dominated. The thing we both were frustrated with how weak the character was. We wanted her to be a strong female protagonist, and she didn’t live up to our expectations.
During the book she is presented with a contract with rules and boundaries for their relationship. I thought the contract had some pretty ridiculous demands, for example, the dominant will choose what the submissive eats at all times. I mean, really? The good thing was that she agreed that the demands were ridiculous. On the other hand, there were times we exclaimed out loud, ‘Get a grip woman!’ because she’d do something that would undermine herself, and we wanted to shake her!
In terms of Christian Grey, I liked that he was complex and interesting, as oppose to Anastasia who was almost one dimensional. He was brooding and disturbing at times, but at least he had depth.
In terms of plot, we always laugh at what my mum said, “If it wasn’t for the plot it’d be pure filth”. I couldn’t agree more, the plot was the thing that gripped me in this book. By the end of the trilogy, I was honestly skim reading the sex scenes, because they were extremely repetitive and they were boring. Overall, the writing is average really, so that wasn’t a gripping factor. I was interested to find out what happened to the characters when they weren’t wrapped around each other.

Granted this is book has its flaws, and is at times frustrating, but we both honestly enjoyed reading it. It could be that being on holiday together and laughing about the daft things the characters would say or do, could have made us enjoy the book more. This is probably up there with the most loved or hated books available, so I’d say try it out if you haven’t already you might love it. We’ll be interested to see how the book translates onto the big screen, so watch this space for a review on that.

It was the ultimate guilty-pleasure read, because we couldn’t put it down.

If you’d like to grab yourself a copy: Amazon link

4 thoughts on “Fifty Shades Of Grey Trilogy by E. L. James

  1. I can’t get over this review! I wasn’t brave enough to tackle these three books but you did such a great job summarizing the idea of them as well as explaining how you liked the actual love story. Someone was asking me what I thought of these books this morning and I sent them to your review- great job!

    Like

    • Aww, thank you for the kind words! I’m surprised I managed to keep the review as concise as it was, because I have a lot to say about them. Glad you liked the review, and it means a lot to get your feedback! Thanks for taking the time to leave me a comment xxx

      Like

  2. Hey love!
    I think we’ve spoke about this book already, but I have to applaud you for managing to get to the end of the trilogy without your head exploding, I made it to the restaurant bit in the first book and gave up!!!!!

    This review was a great read!!

    Love you girl
    S
    X

    Like

  3. Pingback: |FILM| Fifty Shades of Grey dir. Sam Taylor-Johnson | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

