Ultimate Book Tag

Hi there, I figured I haven’t done a tag in a little while, and I’ve honestly been a little demotivated with blogging lately. I did this tag to ease myself back into it. I saw this tag over on the Books With Bite and they said that it originated on the youtube channel Chapter Chicks.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

I definitely suffer from a little travel sickness, and reading in cars certainly doesn’t help that. When I was in the Lake District it really affected me, as I was trying to read when I had a spare minute but up and round those winding roads really knocked me for six.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I really love David Nicholls’ writing style; he has such a natural and realistic way of writing characters and dialogue. He is a master in his craft.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

I’ll be honest I’ve loved both, well; rather I loved Twilight when I first read it. Ultimately, Harry Potter has always held a massive place for me.

1. The magical world.

2. The incredible plot.

3. The engaging characters.


4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

I did when I was back in school/Uni. I just carry a handbag now, which usually has: a book, my planner, car and house keys, purse.

5. Do you smell your books?

Oh yes, I love the smell of a good book!

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I don’t mind either way, sometimes they add to the narrative, but often they’re not an integral part of the book. Sometimes I’d prefer for any images of people/supposed characters because I’d prefer to imagine them myself.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)

Well, I’d have to agree with Twilight. I loved it at the time, I couldn’t get enough, but in hindsight the writing isn’t superb. To be fair, I was more in love with the characters than the writing style.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I can think of one of the top of my head, when I was in primary school with my friend Amanda. I think I must have been maybe 6? Anyway, we were both reading this picture book about wigs and we were choosing which one was our favourite but we both liked the same one. We fought over the book, pulling it back and forth, and we ripped it in half…. Terrible I know!

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

The thinnest book on my shelf is Riding In Cars With Boys by Beverly Donofrio.


10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Erm, I think it’s Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I studied Creative Writing as a joint degree with Film Studies, and I really fell in love with script writing. I haven’t written a ton since I left Uni unfortunately, and can’t see myself as an author. It would be fun, but alas, I have to write something, anything, to be an author.

12. When did you get into reading?

My love for reading began as a young girl, and I was encouraged a lot by my mum. She’d often buy me different books, usually something by my favourite author at the time, Enid Blyton. It’s no secret that The Magic Faraway Tree was my favourite back then.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

My favourite classic book is A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I try to read it every Christmas, I love it!


14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Yes, I was pretty good with English back in school, but I’d say Music was probably my better subject.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

I’d obviously thank the person that gave me the present, and I might pass it on to someone who I think will enjoy it.


16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Let me think, there are tons of dystopian series, I can’t think of lesser known ones. All I can think of is Divergent, Delirium and the Matched trilogies.


17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

I gather this is a question that is for those that are Booktubers or Youtubers, which I don’t do, so I can’t comment on that. I imagine I’d ramble a lot and lose my train of thought.

18. What is your favorite word?

This is a random question… but I have a couple of answers for it. I like: Smogasboard, and, erm, Sequins. I have no idea why, but there you go!

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’m a MASSIVE NERD! No shame!

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Hmmm, Fairies probably. I like Tinkerbell from Peter Pan…

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

I’d have to say Shapeshifters for this one. I’d probably prefer to read about those. I thought they were good addition in the TV show, Supernatural.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Definitely spirits, even though they’d terrify me.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Vampires would win this round. Zombies bore me!

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I have to say often I find love triangles to be annoying. However, I think forbidden love is fantastic to read about.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

I think I’d prefer to read an action packed with love scenes, because I like the variety. Then again, it depends on what mood I’m in. Sometimes I just want all the warm and fuzzies of a full on romance book.

Feel free to do this tag if you’d like to!

3 thoughts on “Ultimate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

