August Book Haul

monthly book haul

Hi lovelies- here is my August Book Haul for you all!

I feel like I say the same thing in every haul post, but I can’t believe it’s already September. I’m already starting to think about getting Christmas decorations and presents, and we have Halloween and I have my birthday between now and then!

2014-08-30 14.28.11

This month I had a lot of extra expenses, like I needed new glasses and I had to pay my road tax, so I didn’t have a ton of spare pennies for books. I still picked up 10 books from various places, and this month I was overwhelmed with books that were sent to me from publishers.

Without further delay, here are the books I have accumulated in the month of August:

2014-08-30 14.30.50

I bought these books from a little independent bookshop in Keswick.

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

The Death Cure by James Dashner

The Kill Order by James Dashner

I already have the first book in the series, The Maze Runner, and I saw the rest of the books in the series for £4 each in the little shop. I thought that was an absolute bargain!

How We Met by Katy Regan

I saw this book in the shop for only £2 and I thought it again, was a bargain, and I remembered I have The Story Of Us by this author.

2014-08-30 14.31.39

I bought these books from Amazon.

The Program by Suzanne Young

I saw a review of this book in one of Elle Fowler’s ‘Glitterature’ videos and it sounded like a fantastic dystopian read. I look forward to picking this up.

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

I saw that this book was being handed out at the huge book convention in America and it peaked my interest. It also had a lot of great reviews from the people that had read it. I enjoy reading books that have a road trip element, I like the escapism and adventure.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This is yet another book I discovered through Youtube, and it sounded like a great YA contemporary read. It’s supposed to be about a girl that has written letters to her ex-boyfriends, but never sends them, until she discovers somebody has accidentally sent them. Imagine the repercussions from that!

2014-08-30 14.29.53

I bought these books from Tesco.

The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman

I like to look over the books in Tesco because they always have the best deals. I spotted this book and the blurb reminded me a little of The Dead Wife’s Handbook, which is one of my favourites.

Daughter by Jane Shemilt

The cover of this book leaped out at me at first, and then I read the blurb and it sounds really interesting. I love a good mystery, and this sounds like it’ll deliver excellent results.

The Telling Error by Sophie Hannah

I’d seen this around other blogs and I saw it on offer. The blurb is intriguing and I’m hoping this will be a book I can’t put down.

This month, Hodder & Stoughton joined forces with Headline over on Bookbridgr so there were a ton of new books to request, and there were so many fantastic ones.

2014-08-30 14.32.38

I’d like to thank the lovely folk at Bookbrigr, Headline and Hodder & Stoughton for these books.

Gutenburg’s Apprentice by Alix Christie

The Tell-Tale Heart by Jill Dawson

In Search Of Solace by Emily Mackie

Seeing Other People by Mike Gayle

2014-08-30 14.33.47

Beautiful Day by Elin Hilderbrand

Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Panic by Lauren Oliver

2014-08-30 14.33.20

Roomies by Sara Zarr & Tara Alterbrando

Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson

If you have any recommendations for me, please let me know! I love hearing what you all enjoy reading and finding some hidden gems.

Leave a Reply

