Love Like The Movies by Victoria Van Tiem

Love Like The Movies

Love Like The Movies

by Victoria Van Tiem

Published: 19th June 2014

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Blurb

Kenzi Shaw knows the plot of her life down to the last line – the career she’s building as an up-and-coming marketing exec, the gorgeous fiancé (Bradley) she’ll marry in a fairytale wedding, the children they’ll raise in her dream home. But when heart-breaking ex Shane comes back into her life, life starts going off the script . . .

Shane tries to win Kenzi over by re-enacting all the rom-com movies they used to watch together – Sleepless in Seattle, Bridget Jones’s Diary, Pretty Woman and Dirty Dancing to name a few. He’s just a guy, standing in front of a girl, asking her to trust him again. But has he really changed? Not only is her head in a spin over Shane, but now her job is on the line. And with her perfect sister-in-law showing up every tiny thing Kenzi does wrong, she feels like she’s permanently in the corner.

Should she risk her sensible life for the chance of a Happy Ever After? One thing’s certain, when Shane meets Kenzi (again), she’s suddenly not so sure who her leading man is . . .

Perfect for fans of From Notting Hill with Love . . . Actually and You Had Me at Hello. Grab some popcorn, hit the sofa and enjoy this feel-good and very funny novel.

Review

This book was given to me by a friend a while ago, as she had a spare copy of the book, and I’ve just gotten round to reading it. I knew straight away it would be a perfect book for me, as it references some of my favourite movies on the cover. I had recently gotten over a bit of a reading slump, and this book pulled me right back into reading. I couldn’t put this book down. I simply had to know what was going to happen, and raced through this book within 24hours. If I didn’t have to work that day it would have been quicker.

Firstly, I loved the concept of this book, to ‘love like the movies’ and all the re-enactments of the romantic comedies. Rom-coms are my favourite movie genre, and for the same reason as the main character in this book, because the journey to finding their love is bumpy, and problematic, usually funny, but they always get there in the end. I loved being able to reminisce all of my favourite rom-coms, and I’d seen all of the films mentioned in this book, so I was fully engaged by the re-enactments. It was clever to reimagine the rom-coms with new characters, or ‘actors’ and it was my favourite thing about this book.

I enjoyed the characters, a lot, I liked that the main character, Kenzi, had flaws, and she’s a strong person. Often in the genre I can get annoyed with the female leads as they always appear perfect, and will fall to the feet of the nearest attractive male. Kenzi isn’t like that, she can be clumsy, and silly, and makes decisions based on what is right for her.

For instance, this book focuses on a love triangle between Kenzi, her fiancée Bradley, and her old flame, Shane. Her ex-boyfriend is obviously and ex for a reason, and I like that she doesn’t immediately forget that the instance he walks back through the door. I like that she remains reserved and uneasy about it. I like that she calls out the people that upset and wrong her, including her family.

The supporting characters are also amazing. I loved to hate Ren, and another surprising character, I nearly dropped my book when that was revealed. I thought Shane was fantastic, and I certainly failed the tummy flip test when he appeared. I particularly loved his attitude, and his creativity. Also, for those that read it, the seven candles were my favourite.

Overall, as you can probably gather, I loved this book. A lot! It was exactly what I needed to read, and I realise why this is my favourite genre to read. It’d been far too long since I picked up something like this. I could re-read this book over, and over again and never get bored of it.

If you’re looking for the perfect mash-up for chick-lit, and rom-coms this book is for you. Please pick this book up, you won’t regret it!

If you’d like to grab yourself a copy: Amazon link

2 thoughts on “Love Like The Movies by Victoria Van Tiem

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2014 | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

