Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Landline

Landline

by Rainbow Rowell

Published: 3rd July 2014

Publisher: Orion

Blurb

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Review

I was really looking forward to the latest novel from Rainbow Rowell, and I pre-ordered a copy of the book. I eagerly dived into the book and buddied up with Abbey (from MissBookwormReviews) so that we could enjoy it together. This review, I’m sure you’re not surprised, is another rave review for this author.

This novel is the author’s second adult novel, and her fourth published book. When I was reading this book, I felt that it read like her YA novels, and it just happened to be that the main characters were adults. As ever, this author is a master at writing complex, funny, unique characters, and these were no exception. The main character, Georgie McCool, is a workaholic sitcom writer, wife, and mother, residing in LA. She is fantastic, hilarious, and very relatable. I think she’s up there with my favourite all-time characters. Each of the secondary characters were fantastic too, I really enjoyed reading about her family and colleagues, especially her husband, Neal, and their adorable little girls.

Although I adore the characters in this book, it wasn’t my favourite part. My favourite thing about this book is the concept, and plot. As you can read in the blurb, Georgie and Neal are having problems, and she stumbled upon a way to communicate with her husband before they got married. This concept fascinates me, and I was immediately engaged in the storyline. I really couldn’t put this book down, and it pained me to work in between reading it. I simply had to know what happens between these characters. Not only did I feel emotionally connected to the characters, but I wanted to know more about how the ‘time-travelling’ worked.

This absolutely got me thinking about my own life, and being able to speak to people from the past. Would I keep everything the same as it is now? What if I knew I can’t speak to the person in present time? It couldn’t stop thinking about all of the possibilities and timelines this could create.

Pace wise, I was very happy with the progression and felt like binge reading to find out what happened, each chapter urging me forward. I was content with the ending of this book, and because I was involved with the characters, and felt like I knew them personally, it felt right for them. I did predict the ending, but not in a negative way, I took it that I read the situation and could see it was the best solution and conclusion for this book.

This is yet another fantastic piece, and I can safely say that Rainbow Rowell is one of my favourite authors. She was also a pleasure to meet, and have her be the first book signing I attended. You can read about that experience here. I think everyone will appreciate this book, and will hopefully enjoy it as much as I have.

Please open yourself up to experiencing this fantastic novel.

If you’d like to grab yourself a copy: Amazon link

Leave a Reply

