July Book Haul

 

monthly book haul

Hi everyone! It feels like 5 minutes ago since I did my June Book Haul, but here we go!…

As ever, I have a few books to show you. I don’t think any will ever be as insane as April’s, which is probably a good thing for my bank account.

JulyHaul1

This past week I purchased my first car so my book buying budget will be cut right down in the coming months. Plus, I look at my TBR pile and realise it’s never going to be manageable, but at least I can prevent myself from adding 10 new books for every 1 I read!

Without further delay, here are the books I purchased in July:

JulyHaul5

I purchased these books from Amazon.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

This is another book that I found via a Youtube video. It’s been mentioned so many times on different channels, and it was the Booksplosion ‘book of the month’, so I thought I’d give it a try to see what all the hype is about. Everyone has said to go into this book blind, so I have no idea what it is about but apparently the ending is mind blowing.

The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

I read the blurb for this book and it sounds like a wonderful contemporary YA book, which will be perfect to read over the summer. I haven’t seen a ton of reviews for this, but the few I have seen were positive, so I wanted to add my opinion to the bunch.

Thirteen by Tom Hoyle

This book sounds fascinating, because once a boy reaches the age of thirteen, they are murdered. Doesn’t that sound intriguing? I’m eager to find out why this happens. Also, the book and the page edges are yellow!

Mr Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

I first heard of this book from yet another Youtube video, and I added it immediately to my wishlist. Who wouldn’t want to live in a 24-hour bookstore? I’d absolutely love that. This book explores the weird and wonderful things you might find at say 3am.

JulyHaul3

I bought these books from Amazon.

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella

One Perfect Summer by Paige Toon

I got all of these books for a really cheap price, and I wanted to expand my collection of these authors! They all look like great reads for the summer, and I’ve heard great reviews for each of them.

JulyHaul4

I bought these books from Amazon.

Burn For Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

Fire With Fire by Jenny Han & Siobham Vivian

I’m quite excited to read these books, they’ve been on my wishlist since I was introduced to them. At the time I bought them they’d just gone down in price, and I needed some filler books to make the order free shipping. These are again popular YA contemporary reads, that I’m hoping reads a little like the film Mean Girls. My only concern lately is that they might read to young for me, as I feel like I’ve had the problem recently. Nontheless, I have high hopes for these, and the third book in the trilogy, Ashes To Ashes.

JulyHaul7 JulyHaul8

I bought these from Amazon.

#Scandal by Sarah Ockler

I recently was introduced to this and I had to get my hands on it straightaway. I normally wait to get book in paperback but I simply couldn’t for this one. I purchased this book because it portrays the damaging effects of social media, and that really interests me. I’ve seen bullying and competitiveness on social media recently, and it baffles me, so I thought this book would be a fantastic read and really reflect how harmful social media can be.

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

I bought this book after I’d picked up and watched the film. I know! I’m supposed to read the book first, but I’d been made aware that the film and book are very different so I figured it wouldn’t matter anyway. I absolutely adored the film, and I’m eager to review both the book and the adaptation for you soon.

JulyHaul6

I purchased Fangirl from Waterstones, and Landline from Amazon.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I recently went to my first book signing, (which you can read all about here) and I wanted to get the special hardcover collectors edition of Fangirl, because it’s not only beautiful and one of my favourite books, but I might not have the opportunity to meet the author again to have it signed. I also purchased Landline, which I loved, and I’m really happy to have my collection of her books signed.

JulyHaul2

These books were sent to me from different publication houses, apart from one which I purchased.

A Girl Called Summer by Lucy Lord

A big thank you to Jaime from Harper Collins, who kindly sent me a copy of this book. I’m really looking forward to trying this, and I’ve already heard some good things about it.

This Is The Water by Yannick Murphy

A big thank you to those at Bookbridgr who sent me this book. It sounds like a thrilling read, and I’ll get stuck into it soon.

The Lost by Claire McGowan

The Dead Ground by Claire McGowan

I’d recently received the second book in this series, The Dead Ground, from the lovely folk at Bookbridgr (thank you!) and I went ahead and purchased the first book in the series, The Lost, so I could marathon them.

And that concludes another monthly book haul. If you have any recommendations for me, please let me know!

One thought on “July Book Haul

  1. We Were Liars is amazing. It’s a quick read and I’d recommend it to everyone.
    Rainbow Rowell is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I’ve only read Fangirl so far but I can’t wait to read the rest. I’ve heard so many good things about her books.
    Twenties Girl…I read this a few years ago but if I remember it correctly, I liked it more than her Shopaholic series. I think I even shed some tears at some point. Looks like a great haul!

    Like

Leave a Reply

