The Wrong Knickers: A Decade Of Chaos by Bryony Gordon

The Wrong Knickers

The Wrong Knickers: A Decade of Chaos

by Bryony Gordon

Published: 5th June 2014

Publisher: Headline

Blurb

 He dashes around his room letting out large huffs, as if taking me back to his flat and shagging me has actually turned out to be a bit of an inconvenience.

And then he flings a pair of pink, silky knickers at me, which land on my lap, Agent Provocateur label side up, and he remarks to me, very casually, that those are pretty knickers. And it occurs to me that this is the only compliment he has paid to me since he woke up, and what’s worse, it isn’t even valid; it doesn’t even belong to me. Because they are pretty, undoubtedly so, these silky size 8 knickers of sex.

But while they are all of these things, they are most definitely not mine

Review

I’d like to thank the lovely people at Headline, and Bookbridgr for sending me a copy of this book to review. As soon as I read the blurb I knew it needed to be the next book I read, it sounded like it would be a great light hearted read, and it was that and so much more!

This book is a memoir, and I can’t remember what the last memoir I’ve read, so in that respect this book was a refreshing change. I went into this book knowing that it was a memoir, but with that being said, I read this book as if it was fictional. It reads as though it is a fictional book, probably because it reminded me of Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding.

I absolutely loved the prologue, it had me laughing, out loud (which isn’t something I usually do when reading a book) and it made me eager to read the rest of the book. I thought the pace of the book was decent, I didn’t find myself skim reading and I was always engaged by the latest drama. I loved reading about Bryony’s ‘decade of chaos’, especially because her antics in her twenties were completely different to mine now, I’m much happier sat at home with a book, and a cup of tea. I loved that I was still able to relate to her even thought our lives are so different. It’s an interesting insight into another person’s life, and I found myself living vicariously through her, from the comfort of my couch and not having to nurse a hangover the next day.

I was initially struck by the author’s writing style, I loved that is was light hearted, and full of mirth. It made reading the book feel like I was sat chatting to my friends about what they’ve been up to. I think a lot of other people will like this style of writing, and it definitely kept me engaged in the book. Through this writing style, I became more attached to Bryony and cared about her story.

It seems strange to talk about the ‘characters’ in this book, because I’m so used to reading fiction novels, I had to stop and remind myself that the ‘characters’ in this book are real people. The people in this book are well described, and I loved picturing them all. I loved seeing how they all interacted, and integrated in Bryony’s life. I particularly loved the more fleeting characters, those described in the one night stands or people met casually on a night out. Those parts of the book really stood out to me, and their interactions made me laugh the most.

Overall, I quite enjoyed this book. It made for an eye opening read, with drink, drugs and lots of naughty nights. I think a lot of people will find this book relatable in one way or another, and a must read for single girls.

If you liked Bridget Jones’ Diary, you’ll like this book and you’ll definitely catch yourself laughing out loud.

If you’d like to grab yourself a copy: Amazon link

One thought on “The Wrong Knickers: A Decade Of Chaos by Bryony Gordon

Leave a Reply

