|FILM| The Fault In Our Stars dir. Josh Boone

The Fault In Our Stars

The Fault In Our Stars

dir. Josh Boone

Screenplay: Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber

Released: 19th July 2014

Distributed: 20th Century Fox

Trailer

Review

I went to the screening of this film with my friend, and fellow blogger, Abbey. We felt like we’d been waiting to watch this film for a long time. We sat in our seats and watched as the room filled up, and settled in to watch the film. I must say, I had the most annoying girl sat next to me. She talked throughout, and spent the majority of the film loudly fake crying for her friends benefit. This meant that I kept getting distracted and couldn’t get into the film as much as I’d like.

As ever, I want to avoid spoiling the plot of this story for anybody that hasn’t read the book or seen the film. When I begin to discuss the film which will probably contain spoilers, I’ll let you know.

I know there was a huge expectation surrounding this film, because a lot of people became emotionally attached to the book. I absolutely loved the book, and was invested in the characters and their story, see my review here. It is a very sensitive read, and because of this there can be difficulties adapting the film so that it pleases the readers of the source material, whilst also entertaining those that haven’t read the book.

I think the producers, and screenplay writers did a fantastic job of producing a faithful adaptation. I saw all of the major plot points on the screen, and often a lot of the dialogue was to the letter. Apart from the most obvious aspects of a faithful adaptation, the big thing for me was that I wanted the overall tone of the novel to be translated, and it was done beautifully. It was heart-warming and incredibly moving.

The actors did a great job portraying their characters. Shailene Woodley, who played Hazel Grace, was fantastic. She is slowly becoming one of my favourite actresses and this was another outstanding performance. She embodied Hazel Grace very well, and she was exactly how I wanted to see the character portrayed: witty, and strong, denying her illness breaking her spirit. The most stand-out performance for me was Ansel Elgort, who played Augustus Waters. He did such a fantastic job. He was one of the major factors in bringing the tone of the book alive for me. His portrayal of Gus was a physical representation of the book’s tone. He was funny, and defiant, and a reminder that illness doesn’t define a person.

I’m going to start discussing the film in a little more detail now, which will contain spoilers, so continue reading at your own risk.

I understand the time constraints of adapting a movie, and so a lot of the source material might be lost. There were some things in the book that I would have liked to have seen in the film, but I know they aren’t pivotal plot points. One of those things was I would have loved to see Gus’ ex-girlfriend. I felt the scene when Hazel was ignoring Gus’ calls was lost without it. I thought it didn’t make sense until she spoke to him on the swing, even then it felt out of the blue without one of the catalysts.

I think the scene at Van Houten’s house didn’t make me as furious as it did in the book, but it still was very shocking to see on screen. I definitely wanted to punch him in the face. My overall favourite scene had to be the reading of the eulogy’s in the heart of Jesus. It was extremely sincere, and devastating. I would have absolutely bawled if I wasn’t so annoyed with the people next to me.

I could continue to discuss this for the rest of your lives, so I’ll end my review here and sum up my thoughts. Overall, I was very impressed with this adaptation. They did a marvellous job at translating it onto screen. I really want to rush out and watch it again, and I urge you to give this film a try.

Grab your coats, and a pack of tissues and head to your nearest cinema!

One thought on “|FILM| The Fault In Our Stars dir. Josh Boone

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 Movie Releases of 2014 | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

