Precious Thing by Colette McBeth

Precious Thing

Precious Thing

by Colette McBeth

Published: 10th April 2014

Publisher: Headline Review

Blurb

Remember the person you sat next to on your first day at school? Still your best friend? Or disappeared from your life for good?

Some friendships fizzle out. Rachel and Clara promised theirs would last for ever.

They met when Rachel was the new girl in class and Clara was the friend everyone wanted. Now in their late twenties Rachel has everything while Clara’s life is spiralling further out of control. Then Clara vanishes.

Imagine discovering something about your oldest friend that forces you to question everything you’ve shared together. The truth is always there. But only if you choose to see it

Review

I would like to thank the lovely people at Headline Review/BookBridgr for sending me a copy of this book. As soon as I read the blurb I knew this was going to be an amazing read, and I was definitely not disappointed. This book is a book that I would have binge read if life and work didn’t get in the way, but I was constantly trying to find five minutes to sit and read more.

A small sentence or two about the book, just because the blurb doesn’t give much away, please feel free to skip this if you want to just dive straight in. This book is about Rachel and her best friend, Clara. Unfortunately, Clara has gone missing. Rachel must put together the pieces to find her, unveiling secrets that make her question what she knows about her lifelong friend.

Where to start with this book? Oh yes, I was initially attracted to the way this book is structured. The novel is written in the form of a letter, from Rachel to her best friend Clara. I really enjoyed this as I felt that it added a real sincerity and a depth to their relationship. I also enjoyed the effortless way the author weaves in and out of past and present, teasing us with memories and information.

Which leads me on to the pace of the book, I found it was paced extremely well. Particularly for the genre, I liked that it wasn’t rushed and that information was slowly unveiled to the reader. It created fantastic suspense, and I was always eager to find out more. It also meant that when there was a revelation, I was in complete shock and I physically couldn’t put the book down, I needed to find out more!

All of the characters in this book are what really bring the narrative to life. I thought they were very genuine and well thought out, especially Rachel and Clara, their relationship felt completely authentic. It’s a relationship that is so intense that it’s almost smothering them. From the beginning I loved Rachel, and always felt uneasy about Clara. Probably because she felt like she didn’t appreciate her friend, and put herself on a pedestal. I was completely sucked in to their story.

This was such a fantastic read. I found it suspenseful, shocking and incredibly chilling. It’ll stay with me for a long time. Another great debut novel and I’ll look forward to reading more from this author. I think my mum will love this book, so my copy will be going to her to read.

Can’t recommend this book enough, it’ll have you on the edge of your seat!

If you’d like to get yourself a copy: Amazon link

2 thoughts on “Precious Thing by Colette McBeth

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2014 | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

