Trouble by Non Pratt

Trouble

Trouble

by Non Pratt

Published: 6th March 2014

Publisher: Walker Books

Blurb

A boy. A Girl. A Bump.

Hannah is smart and funny. She’s also fifteen and pregnant.

Aaron is the new boy at school. He doesn’t want to attract attention.

So why does Aaron offer to be the pretend dad to Hannah’s unborn baby?

Growing up can be trouble but that’s how you find out what really matters.

Review

I picked this book up from a table in Waterstones, and I’ll be honest before I picked it up I hadn’t heard anything about it. Once I read the blurb I immediately popped it into my basket. It reminded me of Juno with the teenage pregnancy, which I loved, and it sounded like a fun read.

I was definitely not disappointed by this book. It’s exactly what I needed to read. I’d been struggling a little bit with a reading slump, and this book pulled me right out. I read this book within 24 hours! I couldn’t put it down, despite being up early for work the next day.

I was impressed straight away by the dual narrative perspectives, of Hannah and Aaron. This added a lot of depth to the read, and I enjoyed getting to know both characters in and out. What I really enjoyed was that their voices were completely different, and I wouldn’t have needed the font to be different for the two characters. I think if it was read aloud to me I could tell instantly which character was speaking.

I absolutely loved these characters, especially Aaron. As the book is written in an almost diary format, we get a deeper insight into what the characters are thinking, and they really don’t hold back. I loved hearing exactly what they thought of the people around them and of each other because of the dual narratives. They’re both really funny, and insightful. I’d definitely read a sequel or a series with these characters.

This book was a favourite for me in terms of dialogue, it felt completely authentic and I jumped back to being 15/16 and remembered how we all spoke at that point. I thought the whole book felt authentic, and for me at least, nostalgic.

The plot of this book is obviously focusing mainly on Hannah’s pregnancy. I felt the author created a book that doesn’t glamourize teenage pregnancy, and illustrates the difficulties it could bring for a younger person. It highlights the consequences, and Hannah’s struggles to tell her family and sit her exams etc. The book deals with a lot of adolescent issues, not purely just teenage pregnancy, such as peer pressure or bullying.

Non Pratt has written a fantastic read for young adults. I thought this book was a fantastic read for me, and I’m 24. I think it’s a refreshing insight, or reminder of what young adults deal with in schools. Another incredible debut novel, I’d look forward to reading more from this author.

I’d recommend this to absolutely everybody.

If you’d like to get yourself a copy: Amazon link

3 thoughts on “Trouble by Non Pratt

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2014 | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

  2. Pingback: How To Love by Katie Cotugno | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2015 | Into The BookCase

Leave a Reply

