My Top 10 Influential Books: Part Two

Hi everyone, this is the second part of my Top 10 Influential Books post.

If you’ve missed the first half of this post, here is the link to it: Part One

Book Six: V for Vendetta by Alan Moore & David Lloyd

I was asked to read this book for a class in university, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. This book opened up a whole new world for me, not only is it dystopian but it’s a graphic novel. I’ve been looking into reading more graphic novels, and I think top of that list is Watchmen by Alan Moore.

Book Six

Book Seven: Vicky Angel by Jacqueline Wilson.

I read this book in high school and I’ll never forget it. This book has an excellent way of explaining grief to a younger audience, in a way that I’d never forget. The book follows a girl that tragically loses her best friend, Vicky, and she sees the ghost of her friend. I’d recommend this book to any young person, as I think it’s brilliant.

Notable mention for this is The Dead Wife’s Handbook by Hannah Beckerman, which I’d encourage you all to read. Here’s my review for that book if you’re interested: The Dead Wife’s Handbook Review

Book Seven

Book Eight: One Day by David Nicholls

This book is so incredibly well written, and it is one of my favourite books. This book epitomises my love of dialogue, and characters. This book reminds me just how powerful dialogue is, and the level of verisimilitude in this book is astounding. It encourages me to seek out fantastic characters, and understand the effects of dialogue when creating characters.

Notable mention is Trouble by Non Pratt, which I’ll be posting a review of shortly.

Book Eight

Book(s) Nine: Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard

This series gave me a deeper love for Young Adult novels, and made me hunt round for more. I loved this series (although I’ve only read the first 8 books) and it encouraged me to look into the world of YA books, this lead me on to read some of my favourite books, such as The Fault In Our Stars, and basically everything else from John Green.

Book Nine

Book(s) Ten: The Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer

I consumed these books within 3 days when I first started university, and I loved them. I know there is a lot of hate for these books, and I know that a lot of people tend to hide the fact that they liked them. I’ll be honest, sometimes I’ve felt like I’ve had to shy away from saying I liked these books because of people’s reactions. This series made the list, not for how they were written or what they’re about, but because this series reminds me to not be ashamed of what I love to read. It reminds me I read because I love to, and that everybody is different.

Notable mentions for this point are the Fifty Shades Of Grey series by E. L. James. I know a lot of people have something negative to say about these books, and now I can say I liked them and I’m not ashamed.

Book Ten

 If you decide to post about your influential books, or have done already, let me know!

Leave a Reply

