Matched by Ally Condie

Matched

Matched

by Ally Condie

Published: 30th November 2010

Publisher: Penguin

Blurb

On her seventeenth birthday, Cassia meets her Match. Society dictates he is her perfect partner for life.

Except he’s not.

In Cassia’s society, Officials decide who people love.

How many children they have.

Where they work.

When they die.

But, as Cassia finds herself falling in love with another boy, she is determined to make some choices of her own.

Review

I first heard of this book when I watched a book review video, which I’ll link here. The girl made it sound like a great book, and an interesting dystopian novel. I’ve been really into dystopian books lately, so I was really happy when I pulled this book from my TBR jar.

Like my review of Divergent, I feel like I need to explain a little about this society so that you have an idea of how this dystopian world works. I will not discuss the plot, or give spoilers but I feel like a small summary about the society is appropriate for the review.

If you’d like to skip over this part, I’ll highlight where the review continues.

The government uses science to determine its citizens a perfect match. If they decide they’d like to participate in the matching process, then they would have to marry, or make a contract, with the person the government has chosen for them. Once they’re contracted together, they can have as many children as the government has specified, but only within a limited time. The society has lots of interesting rules, for example, if you choose not to participate in the matching process you are declared a single. As a single, you are never allowed to have children. The society is very strict.

The review continues from here.

I was really interested in reading about this society, and all of the rules and relegations, and also reading about the romantic elements. As you can see in the blurb, Cassia has an unusual matching ceremony as she is matched with two people. She then must navigate through her feelings for them, whilst dealing with a corrupt government. At first I thought I’d lose patience with yet another love triangle, but I didn’t I loved it and it sucked me in.

I quite liked the characters, and Cassia. I like that she isn’t afraid to question things, and test the waters. I’d move onto the next book just to see how her character develops. Like I mentioned before, I wasn’t sure I’d like the love triangle elements of this book. Mainly because I sometimes find they’re overdone, and the plot can become predictable, but I loved the characters Ky and Xander and how the plot develops.

I really enjoyed reading Matched, and found that it was a page turner. I’ll definitely be moving on to sequel, so I can find out what happens to the society and the characters. I thought the pace of this book was very good. There isn’t a constant stream of action, but I thought the author balanced the high drama with the calmer moments beautifully.

I’d recommend this book to those that enjoyed Divergent.

If you’d like to get yourself a copy: Amazon link

Leave a Reply

