My Top 10 Influential Books: Part One

Hello everyone! These are my Top 10 Influential books.

I saw this floating around on Youtube, and the ‘booktubers’ would show their top 10 influential books without explaining how they influenced them. I thought this would be an interesting blog post, but I didn’t want to just show pictures without explaining how they influenced me, so I’ll be telling you how the following books have affected my reading journey.

Here we go, in no particular order:

Book(s) One: The Faraway Tree Series by Enid Blyton

These are the books that I credit my passion for reading to. My mum bought me these books and I read them as a young girl. I was completely obsessed with them. They follow a group of children that befriend characters that live in the Faraway Tree. At the top of the Faraway Tree, there are new lands that constantly change and the children have adventures in all the strange and interesting lands. Notable mentions to The Babysitters Club Series by Ann M. Martin, which I adored when I was a child.

Book One

Book(s) Two: The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

I can’t imagine many people missing this series from their lists. I consider this my ‘high-school obsession’, because I went through my years in high-school reading these books. I loved being able to come home and read more about Hogwarts and the wizarding world. These books made me more aware of how books can be an escape. I really appreciated them for that reason. I read these books when I was stressed, or having a bad day (granted, I’d read them no matter what) and they would always cheer me up.

Book Two

Book Three: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I added this book, not only because it’s one of my favourites, but this book really exposed me to dystopian novels. Before this book I tended to stick to
chick-lit but this book made me branch out and pick up more dystopian books. Now I have found some that I’d consider my favourites, like Divergent.

Book Three

Book Four: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This book was included because this book inspired me to pick up books that I’d consider out of my comfort zone. When I read the blurb of this book, I thought I’d hate it and I ended up absolutely adoring it. I’d consider this book one of my all-time favourite books.

Book Four

 Book Five: Flowers For Algenon by Daniel Keyes

This book gave me a love for finding books that have an interesting structure. I adore this book, it’s about a man with mental disabilities, and he is chosen to participate in an experiment that would increase his intelligence. The book is written from the protagonist’s point of view, and the language and structure are used to emphasize the characters experience through the experiment. This book also proved to me that I do enjoy some sci-fi books, as I had convinced myself that I wouldn’t like them, and has encouraged me to try more.

Book Five

I decided to split this post into two parts, because it became ridiculously long, so keep an eye of for the other half, coming soon!

If you’ve read any of these books, let me know if they influenced you in any way.

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Influential Books: Part One

  1. Hi Great blog. I’ve recently read The Book Thief and loved it. It has left me wanting more from this genre so I read When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit and found it very charming, honest, intriguing, thought provoking, funny and sad. Will continue to read your posts with interest 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Top 10 Influential Books: Part Two | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson

Leave a Reply

