Bargain Books Haul

Hi everyone! As I mentioned in my April Book Haul: link , I had a few books coming in from The Works. I thought I’d do a seperate post for these because I got them at bargain price along with a few others.

The Works 1

It was the first time I’d ordered anything from The Works, and I can’t say I’m 100% happy with them. I went to The Works for a specific book, which I ordered, and then I ordered the others so that I’d get free delivery. (I hate paying delivery costs, especially when it’s more than the price of the book I’m buying). Then they emailed me to say that the book was no longer in stock, and they refunded me for it. Was just a little dissapointing that I couldn’t get the book that I’d gone to the site for.

In terms of delivery, most books came in seperate parcels and they came fairly quickly, which is good. I’d ordered them just before Easter with a 30% voucher, so the books worked out really cheap too.

One thing that annoyed me was that some books came in odd sizes. Two came in mass paperback size, not only do they not match my other books from this author, but I find the font way too small to read. One book was massive too, at least I can read it but I love when all the heights match.

Anyway, these are the books that I ordered from The Works.

The Works 3

Divas by Rebecca Chance

I was really excited to see this book on the site, I have all the other books from Rebecca Chance and was looking forward to completing the collection. I was really dissapointed when they arrived in mass paperback. I’ll probably end up buying them again in the bigger paperback size so I can read them.

Getting Over Mr. Right by Chrissie Manby

This book was in a 6 for £10 deal, and it sounded like a fun fluffy read so I added it into my basket.

Bad Girls by Rebecca Chance

The other Chance book that was mass paperback, sadly. Nevermind! They worked out to be about £1.50 each so I might give them away to a charity shop and purchase them again from Amazon.

The Works 4

Severed Heads, Broken Hearts by Robyn Schneider

I saw this book in a video from Laura Lovelock (SheLovesToRead) and she was saying she’d purchased this and it sounded like a good read.

A Very Accidental Love Story by Claudia Carroll

This was the book that was massive! It’s sounds like a good read, and I know a few people that have read it so I figured I’d give it a try.

Step Back In Time by Ali McNarma

This was another book that Laura Lovelock had purchased, and again, she made it sound good so I got a copy too.

The Works 5

City Of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

I saw this book on the site, and immediately popped it into my basket. My boyfriend had bought me the first in the series for our anniversary, and as I had a voucher I figured I’d get it whilst I could.

The Accidental Life Of Jessie Jefferson by Paige Toon

This was a great find for me, as the lovely Emma Louise (EmmaLouBookBlog) is always raving about this author, so when I saw this at the cheap price I added it to my basket.

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

These next two books I found when trying to get my order to the free delivery, and complete the 6 for £10 deal. I loved The Virgin Suicides by this author and was really interested in reading more of his work.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

I bought this book as the blurb caught my eye, and it would complete the book deal.

Overall, I was satisfied with ordering from The Works, purely because they were extremely inexpensive. I worked it out and each book cost about £1.50! Which is a bargain, especially for books that follow a series like City Of Ashes.

Whilst I was in Southport, I popped into a clearance book shop, and these are the books that I found.

Bargains 1

Each book from this shop was only £1. Seriously!

Bargains 3

The Selection & The Elite by Kiera Cass

Remember I said I went to The Works to order a specific book (which I didn’t end up receiving) I found it in this clearance shop. I was really happy, especially because it was slightly cheaper… and I found it’s sequel.

Bargains 2

Pictures of Lily by Paige Toon

I couldn’t believe I found a Paige Toon book, and that it was £1. Heard great things about this one in particular too.

The Future Of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

I first spotted this because of its bright cover, then I spotted the authors names. Jay Asher! As in Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher! Had to buy it and read more of his work.

Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Spotted this as I walking to the till, and realised I’d got Beautiful Disaster. I wondered if  it was part of a series, so I picked it up. I thought it’s only £1 and it could complete a series from this author. I was right, this is a trilogy so I’ve saved quite a few pennies there.

Extremely happy with these finds, and I’m eager to find more bargain books. If you know any online sites that are good, please let me know!

2 thoughts on “Bargain Books Haul

Leave a Reply

